3DS screen flickering

chiopas

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
39
Country
Lithuania
Hello,

I've just got this strange screen flickering and I cannot find its cause. If it would be something to do with cables going to the top screen then I could cause it by moving these cables or by opening and closing the screen but it only appears by fully closing the console when it goes to sleep or sometimes when powering on (not every time), sometimes it appears when exiting system settings. I cannot give any links until I'll post at least 5 post so after that I'll post it. In the video I'm showing the problem and in the end it disappears when I press power button, sometimes it disappears when I enter twilight menu and exit it right away, sometimes I need to reboot few times (top screen stays stationary).
Does anyone has any ideas? For mee it seems like a software issue but I can't figure what is it.
 
Last edited by chiopas,

CoffeeOwl88

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 15, 2021
Messages
39
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
158
Country
United States
I've only had my screen flicker when I tried enabling splash screen on my Japanese CFW 3DS. So unless you did the same thing, it is probably a hardware issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: falcorr

chiopas

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Dec 1, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
39
Country
Lithuania
I've only had my screen flicker when I tried enabling splash screen on my Japanese CFW 3DS. So unless you did the same thing, it is probably a hardware issue.
Hi, it appears it's hardware issue because now top screen stopped showing the picture. But now it's obvious because it comes up in certain position but previously no matter in which position screen was the flickering was appearing randomly.
 

CoffeeOwl88

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 15, 2021
Messages
39
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
158
Country
United States
Hi, it appears it's hardware issue because now top screen stopped showing the picture. But now it's obvious because it comes up in certain position but previously no matter in which position screen was the flickering was appearing randomly.
Usually, this is due to the screen ribbon not being snug in its clip. Fortunately, taking the 3DS apart is not too complicated until you have to disassemble the top screen. The ribbons all attach to the console's motherboard so you won't need to take apart the top part of the 3DS. Once you take the bottom lid off the bottom part of the 3DS, you will see the ribbon cables right away. Unclip them, and place them back. Clean them off with alcohol first just in case, and then give it a try. It's an easy fix that should only take a few minutes if this is the issue you are having. If this doesn't work then you probably have a bad screen or a damaged ribbon cable.
 

SG6000

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
392
Trophies
0
XP
1,426
Country
United Kingdom
I disabled my Luma splash screens too because of strange ultra high flicker the images would sometimes display with.

It was actually resulting in burn-in on my main 3DS unit that would sometimes persist for quite a while.

In my case it seems to be software issue, specifically Luma and the dual IPS N3DSXL I prefer to use.
 

itsperkele

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2020
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
138
Country
United States
same problem here with 64gb SD. i had been searching for the longest time for a fix for the flickering. i didnt realize it was only flickering from burn in from the splash screen. did not notice the issue until i replaced both screens. the new ones ended up being both ips and the old ones were tn, so i was convinced for the longest time that it was an issue with the hwcal00 and 01.dat files
 

TW9User

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 15, 2023
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
53
Country
United States
I've only had my screen flicker when I tried enabling splash screen on my Japanese CFW 3DS. So unless you did the same thing, it is probably a hardware issue.
Hey, quick question, did you manage to find a fix for it? Because my Japanese 3DS also has the same issue.
 
Last edited by TW9User,
  • Like
Reactions: falcorr

That1LoserGuy

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 8, 2022
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Da Usa
XP
184
Country
United States
Sounds like a ribbon cable problem to me, the ribbon cable that runs to the top screen and speakers runs through the hinge, which can eventually cut through the ribbon cables after years of closing and opening the 3ds, however in most of these cases the 3ds shuts off with a loud speaker pop.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Was it ever operational?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Costing a ton of jobs, environmental disaster, loss of a ton of money
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    They still ship the oil, just in trucks instead of a pipe
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Okay so the pipeline (extension) was never operational, never worked, and shipping that oil was never cheaper because of it.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    They do this stock investment thing Veho called futures trading
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's complex but yeah in spite of it not being operational (yet) they had planned on it being so
  • Veho @ Veho:
    They do this thing called "counting their chickens before they hatch".
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's the same as when publishers claim piracy is costing them billions in "projected" earnings.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Well knowing where you are going is usually a good thing
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Looking before jumping is also a good thing.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    If you follow the money the truth is usually there
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    A strong hunch of mine is that a cheap oil pipe from Alaska would have hurt the middle East and lowered prices. If I was a big investor in oil, I would probably not want that at all.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeah and the truth is oil companies reported record profits yet there's no room to reduce oil prices at the pump because, um, economy.
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Well Biden said he was going after the big oil companies 🥰
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Looks like he failed.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    His record seems to imply otherwise, but politicians say the opposite of what they really mean
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Like most politicians, he
    has so many corporate hands up his ass it's a wonder he could move at all.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'm sorry, that's not bribery, that's "lobbying".
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Or when a foreign country does it, it's "investing" in your "equity firm".
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I remember a comedian saying that politicians should have to wear jackets like NASCAR with all the sponsors on them
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Psionic Roshambo, Because politicians are racists?
    +1
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @SylverReZ Trump is a racist, but atleast the economy will be good
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Well they are old people lol
    +1
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    Atleast hes honest about it
    S @ salazarcosplay: Atleast hes honest about it