3ds reads cmd files

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by rondoh70, Sep 2, 2011.

Sep 2, 2011

3ds reads cmd files by rondoh70 at 2:54 AM (5,481 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. rondoh70
    OP

    Member rondoh70 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    new york
    Country:
    United States
    looking through the 3ds files I found cmd files
     


  2. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,182
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    cool story bro, tell it again
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Which "3DS files"?
     
  4. Xuphor

    Banned Xuphor I have lied to all of you. I am deeply sorry.

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,681
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    He means the files on the SD card, saves, channels, whatever.

    @OP - different kind. This is Nintendo, no Microsoft. Just because it's named .cmd doens't mean it's AT ALL related to the PC cmd file, and some other website's forums confirmed it's different.
    Just google this, it's easy to find.
     
  5. omega59

    Member omega59 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    451
    Country:
    Canada
    Looks like just another troll LOL. i found porn on mines [​IMG]
     
  6. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,182
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    OP, try writing "shutdown - r" in a file and then running it! it should restart the console if the cmd files can be read. there might be a checksum implemented in them, i am not too sure, i will try and have a look at the files on my sd card tomorrow. we might be able to embed a rom (legally obtained of course [​IMG]) and execute it when the cmd file is run. i saw a exe to cmd converter, would this work if i convert epsxe to a cmd, and then run it? would i need drivers or something? i am not too sure about hacking really, just trying to help i guess..!

    -edit. post any updates you have here, don't keep it all to yourself!!
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Is this post satire?

    This is not possible at all.
     
  8. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    He IS right, though.
    Those indeed are .cmd files that the 3DS can read.

    Nowhere in his post does he say those are windows-type cmd files.
     
  9. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    Your joking right? The 3DS won't interpret these plaintext commands, else it would be incredibly easy to hack. Also, it's a whole different language than what the 3DS runs.

    Any file can be renamed to .cmd
     
  10. rondoh70
    OP

    Member rondoh70 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    new york
    Country:
    United States
    ok I tried the shutdown - r code and it tells me "The software could not be lauched. Please download again from Nintendo eShop."

    P.S the files can be launched from windows so if you have a hyper cam you might be able to read what the code is saying.
     
  11. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States

    Oh god. [​IMG]
     
  12. sergster1

    Member sergster1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    The code is encrypted and most likely compiled/written with a different program that is proprietary software to nintendo. No. It will not be read or even understood by command prompt. End of story.
     
  13. rondoh70
    OP

    Member rondoh70 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    new york
    Country:
    United States
    yes I know its funny but it is an attempt
     
  14. rondoh70
    OP

    Member rondoh70 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    new york
    Country:
    United States
    Sergster the cmd file does run in windows. It displays about four lines of text the quickly ends.
     
  15. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    That doesn't mean it does anything useful. I'd say it's more intesting that the 3DS uses the .sav format for SOME of it's games.

    It's encrypted, too, so it's completely useless for now.
     
  16. rondoh70
    OP

    Member rondoh70 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    new york
    Country:
    United States
    Actually the cmd files are what run the program and they are all different. The sav file is also important but the cmd file can be slightly analized if you could read what it is exicuting using windows.
     
  17. sergster1

    Member sergster1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    That may be true but no one can even god damn WRITE programs in CMD to work on the 3DS you know why? Each file the 3DS reads needs to be signed by a checksum. So that removes the ability of writing programs from scratch. ALSO You cant even EDIT an already written "CMD" file on the 3DS as it is encrypted and even if we COULD decrypt it the second you change one BYTE of the file it becomes unsigned and the 3DS will refuse to read it. Finally. The 3DS OS is NOT windows. CMD is for windows based programs to run. You cant go writing a program in CMD/DOS and expect it to run on a mac/linux based machine can you? There are vast software differences and the CPU's architecture is COMPLETELY different from each other so the CPU wouldnt even know what to god damn do with it. Also as stated before you can change the file type of ANY program as long as you have a keyboard and a brain. Hell i can change an exe to an mp4 by just typing .mp4 at the end. Does that mean that the file will still be read or played in a media player? No. It does not. End of discussion. Im tired of these hacking 'theories' by people who joined only today and havent even exceeded 10 posts.

    Also its the CPU that runs the program. All the file does is tell the CPU what to do and the CPU wont be told to do actions that havent been signed by nintendo.
     
  18. rondoh70
    OP

    Member rondoh70 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    new york
    Country:
    United States
    you are right sergio the cmd file is just an encrypted file that ends in a syntax error. But what confuses me is that when loading the nintendo video cmd it does the same but it creates a file called k with no data in it.
     
  19. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    That's actually kinda interesting. But I don't think it'll lead to anything.
     
  20. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,182
    Country:
    Tuvalu

    lol yes i was joking... but the great thing is that he actually tried it! i kind of feel bad, but ahahah that really made my night!
     

Share This Page