3ds power button problem

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Another World, Jul 1, 2011.

Jul 1, 2011

3ds power button problem by Another World at 1:39 AM (13,362 Views / 0 Likes) 72 replies

  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i'm not using my 3ds all that much. it may sit for over a week between uses (or longer). when i try to power it up by pressing the power button after letting it sit for awhile it doesn't work the first 1-2 presses. on the 2-3rd press the system will power up as normal. after its been powered up if i power it right back down and then back up again it works on the 1st button press.

    i've never used a flash kit in it. i'm updated to the new firmware. its the cosmo black 3ds. everything else works perfectly, never had a problem with anything else.

    is anyone else having any problems like this?

    -another world
     


  2. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    I have also noticed a similar problem/nuisance. I have to press for at least 2 seconds for it to power up.
     
  3. Rankio

    Member Rankio GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Country:
    United States
    Same here. Usually have to either hold it or hit it 2 or 3 times. Rarely does it go on with one tap.
     
  4. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i guess a feel a bit better that its happening to others but now its pissing me off a bit more. the 3ds hardware seems to have all types of odd bugs. the wobble in the screen, the bottom screen leaving marks on the top, etc. the 3ds feels like a prototype. when i play it, i look over at my virtual boy and get that same feeling that it was released before it was really ready.

    -another world
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    perhaps and I say perhaps this is part of the design, so that you don't accidentally turn it on? Though I don't understand why that would be needed.
     
  6. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    I have this "problem." It can be kinda annoying, but I think it could be intended. Cause, lotsa people accidentaly press it while gaming, especially if they are used to DS lite/i/XL. It's nothing huge, but it's a tiny thing that can sometimes be nice.
     
  7. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    yeah but iirc the original ds would power up almost immediately when the button was pressed but then once on would take a good 2 second press turn off, so if they did implement this "feature" I don't understand why.
     
  8. Fluto

    Member Fluto A potato in disguise

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,273
    Location:
    The Moon
    Country:
    Australia
    You need to hold it for a while.
    i ALways put it in sleep mode anyways.
    Because of that it says i have been playing loz for an average of 7 hours and i played it 2 times XD
     
  9. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I've been noticing this power button issue lately as well. Seems it doesn't want to start on the first press.
    I know this wasn't a problem when I first got it . . . I just hope this doesn't progress into a "DSlite shoulder button-like"crisis.

    Jeez, Nintendo, these are just buttons --how hard can it be?
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    I really want to get my hand on the PS Vita and compare build quality/responsiveness.
     
  11. camus24

    Newcomer camus24 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Colombia
    I have all the same problem, i tried so hard to not move faster or hard because I think the screen would damage for the wobbling, I don't like that
     
  12. Dylan

    Member Dylan 100 MILES AND RUNNIN'

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I think the power button is actually meant to be a 2 second hold not an instant press. Just sayin'
     
  13. dsfanatic5

    Member dsfanatic5 Team ICO Freak

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    762
    Country:
    United States
    I've noticed this probelm too, and thought it was introduced with the big June 6th update. My 3DS has powered on with one press of the power button since I got it. Then after the update, I started to worry when my 3DS wouldn't power on at all. It literally took about 6-8 seconds of holding the button for it to turn on. Strangely, there's normally a small boot-up time until I get to the main menu, but when I held the power button down it powered on directly to the main menu.

    It's only happend a couple times since, and seems to occurr when I haven't played my 3DS for a length of time. Since I've been playing my 3DS constantly since Zelda came out, it hasn't happened again. I also thought that it could possibly be the button wearing out. I tend to press the power button on the right side of the button, and maybe it wasn't pressing it down correctly. Now I try to press the power button towards the left, or middle of the button.
     
  14. Rogue_Ninja

    Member Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    My biggest issue with the console. The power button is a pain in the ass. Not a good design.
     
  15. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniacâ„¢

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    XP I couldn't help but laugh at this one.

    Yeah, actually. Mine does have the same issue. at first I didn't think anything of it, but it does get really annoying having to hit it two ot three times before it works.
     
  16. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure you're suppose to hold it in, like it says in the manual [​IMG].
     
  17. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Mine does this too, but I only noticed it after the v2 update. Nintendo really needs to get their shit together.
     
  18. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    strange thing is now its responding immediately when I press the power button, weird.
     
  19. heartgold

    Member heartgold GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,276
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol It's always different, sometimes it powers on instantly, sometimes it doesn't respond and yeah I think you have to hold it for a few seconds. I usually just tap it quickly so yeah...
     
  20. Nobunaga

    Member Nobunaga Empty

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,052
    Country:
    Greece
    Yep i had the same problem but now i don't i think if you let it off for 6-7 hours it will have this problem.
    :/
     

Share This Page