Hacking 32gb SD card problem

DragonSky

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
774
Trophies
0
XP
388
Country
Belgium
I tried to copy a game like Rollercoaster Tycoon and it won't read.
But on another sd card from 8gb it does read.

I already have defragment it in a tool and the one on pc. Or do I need to do it several times?
So to be clear I have no problems with other games just some like this one.
 

MelonGx

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
1,653
Trophies
1
XP
915
Country
China
- Buy a better card reader. I use Kingston Mobilelite G4.
- Re-format SD card with Panasonic SD Formatter.
 

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
8,033
Trophies
0
Location
Earth-chan
XP
5,298
Country
China
I tried to copy a game like Rollercoaster Tycoon and it won't read.
But on another sd card from 8gb it does read.

I already have defragment it in a tool and the one on pc. Or do I need to do it several times?
So to be clear I have no problems with other games just some like this one.

dont defrag a flash memory... (sd card for example)
if you get fragmentation problems just move to pc, format it, and put the stuff back...
 

RandomUser

Rosalina in Plush Form
Member
Joined
May 9, 2010
Messages
967
Trophies
1
XP
1,042
Country
United States
dont defrag a flash memory... (sd card for example)
if you get fragmentation problems just move to pc, format it, and put the stuff back...
That is what I do when I encounter fragmentation on a flash drive. I wonder if it is safe to defrag solid state drive with a defragger?
 

DragonSky

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
774
Trophies
0
XP
388
Country
Belgium
dont defrag a flash memory... (sd card for example)
if you get fragmentation problems just move to pc, format it, and put the stuff back...
The problem is I got a slow usb reader got a fast one but won't recognize 32gb it sometimes does with a bit plugging.
 

RandomUser

Rosalina in Plush Form
Member
Joined
May 9, 2010
Messages
967
Trophies
1
XP
1,042
Country
United States
The problem is I got a slow usb reader got a fast one but won't recognize 32gb it sometimes does with a bit plugging.
Sounds like it's either your SD card or the fast reader is faulty, did you try another SD card of same size on the fast reader?
 

RandomUser

Rosalina in Plush Form
Member
Joined
May 9, 2010
Messages
967
Trophies
1
XP
1,042
Country
United States
what i said, flash memory.. ssd is still flash memory (if i am not mistaken)
Oh yeah, brain fart on my part LOL. I know some defragmentation software like perfect disk has SSD mode in them for Solid State Drive. My guess is that it is nothing more then a marketing fluff?
 

DragonSky

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
774
Trophies
0
XP
388
Country
Belgium
Sounds like it's either your SD card or the fast reader is faulty, did you try another SD card of same size on the fast reader?
So that's why I recommend a better reader - a better quality reader.
It is a bit faulty I opened it once and got probably broken at some points.
I think it worked also perfect with 32gb before no problems with other cards just this one.
The sd card it self isn't defect it is just new and it fits perfect in a usb 2.0 reader which is to slow.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That aren't $8,000
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I just ordered one these, got tired of bunch of external drives for dif game systems game backups (Some require FAT32, some NTFS), so wanna combine them
    51fz1bsUEnL._AC_SL1500_.jpg
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    just use a usb or a sd card
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    its more small
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    in physical size
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Thought about one of those but I don't really use hdds like that
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Does it cap out at a certain tb
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    no, i can switch to which drive I want to access with a button on it, I have 4 2tb and 1 4tb, all dif formats, so will work good for me
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    So you could have a petabyte with it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    You made me go back and look, it says 32tb max per drive. It will be nice when setting up game systems, I can carry one enclosure around, instead of grabbing the right Ext hdd for, say Xbox360 games
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    So about 128tb still more than you'd ever need
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I thought about just buying a new ext hdd 12tb like you shown, then format multiple partitions on it, but I'm lazy.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Buy 4 won't have to
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    It was only $75 so still cheaper than a new drive. And less hassle. It would take forever to copy everything over also.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    You take forever
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That's what uremum says...
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    To do her chores yes
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Anything else she says you finish in two minutes
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Dusting and cleaning those windows take forever, and I can never get those stains out of her bed sheets. And that damn doorbell ringing all the time, men coming and going constantly
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    installing retroarch in my pc again
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    She's a woman that gets things done most have big strong men over to accomplish things
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I like retroarch, once you set it up completely, it's cool. Artwork, summary, and screen shots for all your games is a nice touch. It's basically a organizer for all your emulators/games.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    install done
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    start setting up
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: start setting up