Hacking 2ds Possibly Bricked

JarvisMarx

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
33
Country
United States
So i'm new to this, hacked my n3dsxl no problem the other day, and my sister was interested. She has a 2ds, so I proceeded with the same guide I used for mine, Plailect's 3ds.guide. Everything was going okay, but when i went to the browser once on 2.1.0, the bottom screen glitched. Once I tried to restart the ds, the blue light came on, then went back off. I booted Hourglass9, and restored the backup NAND, and it would go to the home screen, but once I restarted, the same process. I booted hg9 again and got back to the menu, and formatted the memory. Everything seems okay, but it won't start up without going to hourglass9 first. I'm not sure where to go from here, everything went smoothly for the n3ds. Any help?
 

Olmectron

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,459
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
A game
XP
2,859
Country
Mexico
You're
So i'm new to this, hacked my n3dsxl no problem the other day, and my sister was interested. She has a 2ds, so I proceeded with the same guide I used for mine, Plailect's 3ds.guide. Everything was going okay, but when i went to the browser once on 2.1.0, the bottom screen glitched. Once I tried to restart the ds, the blue light came on, then went back off. I booted Hourglass9, and restored the backup NAND, and it would go to the home screen, but once I restarted, the same process. I booted hg9 again and got back to the menu, and formatted the memory. Everything seems okay, but it won't start up without going to hourglass9 first. I'm not sure where to go from here, everything went smoothly for the n3ds. Any help?
You're missing the arm9loaderhax.bin file in the root of your SD card
 

JarvisMarx

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
33
Country
United States
But i factory reset it, and if i try to start the guide over when i get to safehax, it freezes. Should i just place all the files where they need to be?

Edit: I put the arm9loaderhax.bin in my sd root, and now on startup it lauches the luma configuration. But I still can't get to decrypt9, and i'm not sure if i can ctrtransfer to 2.1.0 through hourglass9, and I don't have the otp.bin file. The ds is currently 11.2.0-35. I can boot homebrew launcher from 3ds sound, but i can't launch decrypt9, safehax just crashes. Really stuck here.
 
Last edited by JarvisMarx,

JarvisMarx

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
33
Country
United States
Okay, so I got decrypt9WIP and put the folder in my 3ds folder. When I launch it, a red screen appears on the bottom, goes black, then red again and I'm back in the hblauncher.
 

Tri-Z

Tri z
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
633
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
1,168
Country
United States
Okay, so I got decrypt9WIP and put the folder in my 3ds folder. When I launch it, a red screen appears on the bottom, goes black, then red again and I'm back in the hblauncher.
I think after u run safe hax then fast hax it auto boots into decrypt9
If u already did the install and luma works u should put decrypt9 into payloads folder and rename it with x_ or y_ at the beginning of the decrypt9.bin file. Then on start up hold down ether x or y which ever u named in the file forget name of actual file. But say was decrypt9 it now be x_decrypt9.bin or y_decrypt9.bin
 
Last edited by Tri-Z,

JarvisMarx

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
33
Country
United States
I'll try again, but before that wasn't working, would get a crash.

Edit: Yup, upon launching safehax, it freezes at a black screen.
Any other way to get to decrypt9? Can't launch it specifically from hbl menu and can't auto boot into it from safehax. Or better yet, is there a way to undo everything I have so far and start from scratch?
 
Last edited by JarvisMarx,

Tri-Z

Tri z
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
633
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
1,168
Country
United States
I'll try again, but before that wasn't working, would get a crash.
Make sure u don't have two dif payloads with same boot button
Not sure if will work just assuming if had hourglass9 working that way that decrypt9 would
If not that way try guide again and just make sure u have all the right files and that they are named right
 
Last edited by Tri-Z,

JarvisMarx

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
33
Country
United States
Uh.. noob explanation? I'm pretty new to this, only ever modded a wii. Where would other payload be? And boot button?
 

Tri-Z

Tri z
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
633
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
1,168
Country
United States
I'll try again, but before that wasn't working, would get a crash.

Edit: Yup, upon launching safehax, it freezes at a black screen.
Any other way to get to decrypt9? Can't launch it specifically from hbl menu and can't auto boot into it from safehax. Or better yet, is there a way to undo everything I have so far and start from scratch?
Where were u getting into hourglass9 from?

Did u name decrypt9 "safehaxpayload.bin"
For when u run fasthax

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Where were u getting into hourglass9 from?

Did u name decrypt9 "safehaxpayload.bin"
For when u run fasthax
Says may take several attempts at each. Fast hax. Once works press start then once back in hb launcher run safe hax. Says same thing. May take several attempts so power off and repeat. Press start when done and then will be in decrypt9
 
Last edited by Tri-Z,

JarvisMarx

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
33
Country
United States
luma/payloads/start_hourglass9.bin. Holding start when booting. Yeah, I renamed it safehaxpayload.bin

Edit: So if I run safehax without running fasthax first, i get an error, but if i run fasthax and then safehax, it black screen crashes and i have to hard reset.
 
Last edited by JarvisMarx,

Olmectron

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,459
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
A game
XP
2,859
Country
Mexico
luma/payloads/start_hourglass9.bin. Holding start when booting. Yeah, I renamed it safehaxpayload.bin

Edit: So if I run safehax without running fasthax first, i get an error, but if i run fasthax and then safehax, it black screen crashes and i have to hard reset.
Why do you want to run safehax if you have A9LH already installed?

If you want to enter Decrypt9 so badly, do it from a bin payload, the same way you start Hourglass9, not from HBL, it won't work in 11.2. I say it again. Decrypt9 won't run from HBL on firmwares above 9.2! Run the payload from startup:

Just put the Decrypt9.bin file in the luma payloads directory and rename it to x_Decrypt9.bin so that it starts when holding X on power up.
 
Last edited by Olmectron,

Olmectron

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,459
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
A game
XP
2,859
Country
Mexico
Dont i need the otp.bin file? The one you get through 2.1.0 browser?
If you already installed A9LH, you don't need the OTP file anymore. Unless you're a developer and want to research about it, if you're a common user that only wants to play games, you're good where you are without that BIN file.
 

Bu2d85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2014
Messages
1,032
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
872
Country
United States
luma/payloads/start_hourglass9.bin. Holding start when booting. Yeah, I renamed it safehaxpayload.bin

Edit: So if I run safehax without running fasthax first, i get an error, but if i run fasthax and then safehax, it black screen crashes and i have to hard reset.
Why are you trying to run safehax? You already have a9lh installed and you restored your nand backup.

Do you have the latest arm9loaderhax.bin from Luma3DS on the root of your sd card?

https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases/tag/v6.6

If you need to get into decrypt9 get the arm9loaderhax.bin for that and rename it to x_decrypt9.bin.

https://github.com/d0k3/Decrypt9WIP/releases/tag/20170115
 

JarvisMarx

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
33
Country
United States
Well alright, thought i had a problem, but that's why I'm not an expert at this. thanks for all the help anywho, really appreciate it.
 
Last edited by JarvisMarx,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Have you tried SwiftKey psi its not as annoying when it comes to autocorrect