ROM Hack [WIP] The Fourth Dimension: A Super Mario 3D land level editor

Mattshark

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
254
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
239
Country
United States
Just figured out how cameras works :lol::

first you need this generic camera code:
HTML:
     <C1>
        <D2 Name="AngleH" StringValue="*AngleH value*" />
        <D2 Name="AngleV" StringValue="*AngleV value*" />
        <A0 Name="Category" StringValue="Map" />
        <A0 Name="Class" StringValue="Parallel" />
        <D2 Name="Distance" StringValue="*Distance*" />
        <D1 Name="UserGroupId" StringValue="*Camera id*" />
        <A0 Name="UserName" StringValue="CameraArea" />
      </C1>

Then set the values with the help from this image:
upload_2016-5-28_17-53-31-png.50985

there are other parameters, but those are the fundamentals.

Happy level making

EDIT: As an example if you want the camera with CameraId = 1 to see mario from side like in a 2D stage with a distance of 1000 you use:
HTML:
     <C1>
        <D2 Name="AngleH" StringValue="0" />
        <D2 Name="AngleV" StringValue="0 (or 10 to give a bit of angle)" />
        <A0 Name="Category" StringValue="Map" />
        <A0 Name="Class" StringValue="Parallel" />
        <D2 Name="Distance" StringValue="1000" />
        <D1 Name="UserGroupId" StringValue="1" />
        <A0 Name="UserName" StringValue="CameraArea" />
      </C1>

Would it be simple to use this information to add some sort of super-simple "camera menu" of sorts? Like an "add Camera" button that opens a small menu where you type in the AngleV, etc? It sounds simple enough to do, just fill-in-the-blanks as far as I know.

Also, I put this code into the XML (both as a new camera and putting it within an existing camera) and converted it to bmyl, but the editor doesn't load any of its new properties/doesn't change anything in-game either...
 
Last edited by Mattshark,
  • Like
Reactions: mustafag32g

exelix11

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
915
Trophies
1
Location
C:\users\exelix11\
XP
3,062
Country
Italy
Would it be simple to use this information to add some sort of super-simple "camera menu" of sorts? Like an "add Camera" button that opens a small menu where you type in the AngleV, etc? It sounds simple enough to do, just fill-in-the-blanks as far as I know.

Also, I put this code into the XML (both as a new camera and putting it within an existing camera) and converted it to bmyl, but the editor doesn't load any of its new properties/doesn't change anything in-game either...
You need to add that code in the cameraParam.byml file, it doesn't have effects in the editor but in the game you'll see.
Also, it's not so simple to add a camera menu, since the values i posted are only a few of the ones the game uses, so making a menu that manages the camera settings would require to know every value used in the game

ok, sure.

I have tried changing the quality of the textures.
The problem may be sketchup exporter, you are using an older version, the obj exported from my sketchup 2015 is different from your and the converter doesb't get stuck.

using citra to check why :-)? i have a 2ds, but it just takes long to recompile and reinstall, you think it is the reason why :-)?
How do you run 3d land in citra ? I can't get past the title screen, when i press A citra crashes
 
Last edited by exelix11,

exelix11

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
915
Trophies
1
Location
C:\users\exelix11\
XP
3,062
Country
Italy
I am using Sketchup 2016
Are you using sketchup function to export as obj ? or a plugin ?
In your model i read:
# Alias Wavefront OBJ File Exported from SketchUp
# with OBJexporter (c) 2010-2011 TIG
# Units = meters

while in my models there is:
# Alias OBJ Model File
# Exported from SketchUp, (c) 2000-2012 Trimble Navigation Limited
# File units = meters

and the format seems different, can you send me your skp ? Save it for sketchup 2015 first
 

Kingy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
959
Trophies
1
Location
England I guess
XP
3,819
Country
United Kingdom
Are you using sketchup function to export as obj ? or a plugin ?
In your model i read:
# Alias Wavefront OBJ File Exported from SketchUp
# with OBJexporter (c) 2010-2011 TIG
# Units = meters

while in my models there is:
# Alias OBJ Model File
# Exported from SketchUp, (c) 2000-2012 Trimble Navigation Limited
# File units = meters

and the format seems different, can you send me your skp ? Save it for sketchup 2015 first
ok, sure. https://www.dropbox.com/s/18t5rmotmugkbyq/island.skp?dl=0
 

Mattshark

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
254
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
239
Country
United States
Got Kokiri Forest Working!

Just got the scale wrong is all, but it is just a model import... anyone have any ideas to make it an actual level (Only using resources from 3d land)?
 

Mattshark

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
254
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
239
Country
United States
Also, is there currently a way to rebuild or inject audio into a .bscar yet? I can take sound out of SoundData/RedPepperSound.bscar (the file with basically all the sfx in the game), but I can't edit it at all...
 

exelix11

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
915
Trophies
1
Location
C:\users\exelix11\
XP
3,062
Country
Italy
Also, is there currently a way to rebuild or inject audio into a .bscar yet? I can take sound out of SoundData/RedPepperSound.bscar (the file with basically all the sfx in the game), but I can't edit it at all...
Just saw the post, tapatalk removes the notification from the site.
The bcsar format is mostly unknown, and most of the files it contains are bcseq which i didn't find nothing about or cwavs that still requires the ctr sdk tool to generate
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol Ken will never eat an omelette again lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Actually ihops omlettes still hit haven't had one in forever
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The steak one is amazing
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Damn near $20 so fuck them
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I second that, they are good. I always get the steak and add mushrooms to it also. But yea been awhile since had myself. I used to go there every morn for coffee and breakfast, meet with my work crew, but we all stop going, too expensive.
    +1
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    I'm scarred for life.
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    See you guys, I'll get lost for another month. Maybe the rest of the year.
    +2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    See you tomorrow
    +2
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Peace. Take care, no more searching tonight. You gonna have nightmares.
    +2
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    See you tomorrow.
    +1
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    did she just vomit on the chat before leaving
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    why are girls doing this nowadays? is this some weird way of showing dominance?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yea, I put her outside though, then cleaned it up.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ah yes the unique power of girls vomiting on you
  • PandaPandel @ PandaPandel:
    im gonna puke
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Laughing face + 2
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    finally, a zelda game where you play as zelda
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it only took 40 years
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @The Real Jdbye, They finally got the naming convention right.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Now lets rename all of the old Zelda games to The Legend of Link. Lol.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    they kinda did that with zelda 2 at least it had link in the title
    +1
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ssDGBTssUI