1. sKeEt

    OP sKeEt GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    United States
    I am trying to repair my windows with my installation CD. When booting the CD and it takes me to recovery mode it asks for the administrator password. The thing is I'm pretty sure I never created a password. I've repaired my windows before like this but I don't remember having to give a password.

    Please help. This is really pissing me off. I just want to repair my damn windows.
     
  2. prowler

    prowler Sony
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,476
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    If you didn't set a password, just press enter.
     
  3. sKeEt

    OP sKeEt GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    United States
    enter cancels the repair and goes back to command
     
  4. psycoblaster

    psycoblaster Divine
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,131
    Country:
    then make a new admin account...?
     
  5. juggernaut911

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,165
    Country:
    United States
    May I introduce youto the good old "net user" command. Get help on that and it should solve your problem.

    (Straight from the prompt)

    The syntax of this command is:

    NET USER
    [username [password | *] [options]] [/DOMAIN]
    username {password | *} /ADD [options] [/DOMAIN]
    username [/DELETE] [/DOMAIN]
    username [/TIMES:{times | ALL}]
     
  6. sKeEt

    OP sKeEt GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    United States
    I guess I really didn't have a password. Now I'm confused.

    I created a new admin password and input it into the cmd recovery mode when prompted but it did the same thing

    how do I continue the repair when all it does is open the cmd prompt?

    This is not how I repaired it before. I booted from cd at startup and it took me to the installation cd where i had the option of installing windows again or repairing it.

    When I start my pc normally and load the cd it doesn't give me the option to repair.

    And now when I boot from cd at startup it takes me to recovery mode where I hit R to repair input my password and i'm left with the command prompt

    ...:wtf: maybe I'm not supposed to hit R for repair. Silly me
     
  7. Elritha

    Elritha GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Correct. You're not supposed to press 'R'. Simply press enter instead and proceed from there.
     
  8. BiscuitBee

    BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah, delicious net user. My only wish was that it had an option set PASSWORD NEVER EXPIRE. Argh. Did that change post-XP or with that Resource Kit for XP?
     
  9. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,047
    Country:
    Italy
    If you didn't set up a password, then the password is " Admin " or " Administrator " I can't remember very well, but either one of those should work, I had the same problem.
     
  10. Richy Freeway

    Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    No it's not. If you didn't set a password then there is no password.
     
  11. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,047
    Country:
    Italy
    If you didn't set up a password, and XP says you did, it's either Admin or Administrator, that's from the XP instruction booklet.
     
  12. elchzard

    elchzard Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    I think you'll have to get a builder in for that...
     
  13. Jesus_wu

    Jesus_wu Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    try blank?
    Or try to Login the default administrator account

    Step 1: Start Windows PC
    Step 2: When you can see the Windows login screen, press ctrl+alt+del keys Twice and it'll show Classic Login box
    Step 3: Type Administrator as Username and leave the Password field blank
    Step 4: Press the Enter Key and then you can be able to login the default windows administrator account which is it created by default when install windows.

    Note: When you input the key combination Please don’t put the cursor on any account. And if you change the name or password before, you cannot login by this way.
     
  14. Jiggah

    Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    This happens when you use the wrong version of the recovery cd for the version of windows. For example, using an SP3 recovery CD for a SP1. If I remember correctly one way to solve the issue is to find a plain version of XP i.e. without any updates.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Administrator, Stupidness, Password