Xbox quiet fan mod

Daoxer

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Earlier this year I got my first Xbox. I didn't know a ton about them so I just nabbed one (I think it is a version 1.4) off of ebay with a few games. However, when I started playing it I noticed that the fan was either worn out or just pain loud. In either case it was just way too loud to enjoy. I love tinkering and last year, I went through the process of creating a pretty nice Noctua fan mod for the PS2 that works great. So, I figured I would go ahead and do the same with the Xbox. A little digging shows a few different fan mods that people have done.

I first tried the 60mm Noctua fan as I have these on hand because I now sell PS2 fan mod kits. This worked great noise wise, but I was not very happy with the thermals on the Xbox. The Xbox uses a lot more power than the PS2 and thus the cooling and airflow needs are a fair amount greater. The GPU specifically ran quite a bit warmer than the stock fan to the point I was not comfortable with it. We're talking almost 20C warmer. I measured the CPU and GPU temps with thermocouples.

Next, I ordered myself a Nexus 70mm fan. This definitely dropped the temps and the noise level was virtually the same as the Noctua. It was a slightly different pitch, but the same noise level according to my smart phone decibel meter app. However, I still wasn't very happy with the temperatures and I knew we could do better.