Hacking Xbox 360 controller on 3DS mod

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josephvb10

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
652
Trophies
0
XP
1,205
Country
Costa Rica
[youtube]irDbIQDhGIQ[/youtube]​

What do you think?

Edit: Where he connected that cable?

31auwaaVSYL._SL500_.jpg
 

EZ-Megaman

Likeanator
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
380
Trophies
0
XP
358
Country
It says it's a mod so it wasn't added before.I'm pretty sure the headphone cable can't do that,even if there was a connection.
 

Gagarin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2007
Messages
960
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
USA
Website
Visit site
XP
965
Country
United States
After that N cafe fake video their will be more of crap like that. Seriously, who would believe that?
Headphone connection? Xbox controller?
 

Ikki

GBATemp's grumpy panda.
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
2,797
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Montevideo
XP
228
Country
Uruguay
That's sweet.

And for the record, a mod isn't a hack. It's actually quite easy to do if you know about it so, I'd suggest that no one talks about this leading to anything piracy related.


And it doesn't have to be fake. It's not something outstanding.
 

Langin

HI! ^O^
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
4,743
Trophies
0
Location
The Hague
XP
2,357
Country
Netherlands
Its not in the headphone connection thing. >.< Its next to it.

This guy is good at photo-shopping.

The Xbox logo does not give any sign. Hmmm this is fishy.

Where he connected the cable? Photoshop! Or whatever it is called.
 

KingVamp

Haaah-hahahaha!
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
12,663
Trophies
1
Location
Netherworld
XP
5,927
Country
United States
hmmm.... and that all.
smileipb2.png


Anyway, to me it doesn't look like it in the Headphone connection.

What would be cooler is a leds see through 3DS.
 

Zeroneo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2009
Messages
400
Trophies
0
Age
28
Website
Visit site
XP
112
Country
SIgh this is a mod. In other words he modified 3DS' hardware so I'd accept input from a Xbox 360 controller. This isn't that hard to make if you know your stuff.
 

Jugarina

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
353
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
NY
Website
youngevity.com
XP
111
Country
United States
Does the 3DS have a way to output video/sound to a television? If not, then to me this is pointless and a waste of time to mod or photo-shopping a video.
 

Pong20302000

making notes on everything
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
8,076
Trophies
0
Location
One's inner self
Website
3dsdb.com
XP
2,305
Country
yea its easy

as you just have to know what wire controls what button on a controller and then connect it up to the button tracks inside the 3DS

then make a small hole to run the cable through and thread it out

xbox has pretty much the same buttons as a 3DS so you can see why it would work

3ds_teardown_motherboard_top-600x337.jpg
 

Xuphor

I have lied to all of you. I am deeply sorry.
Banned
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
1,681
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
USA
XP
1,430
Country
United States
I call pure fake.
Why?

The Xbox 360 Wired controller is a USB controller, and is programmed as one (Plug it into a PC to see), that is the ONLY way it can transfer anything over the wire, unless you literally reprogram the entire controller for the 3DS, which is impossible because the 3DS SDK isn't leaked yet.
Because the controller has to be sending USB data, and the 3DS has absolutly no USB programming in it at all, it is just not possible to connect a 360 controller to a 3DS via the 360 controllers's wire (headphone jack, hard wiring to the motherboard, ANYTHING) in a way where the 360 could control the 3DS with the same button layout, or even control it at all.

This video is purely fake due to technical impossibilities currently, very nicely done fake though.

EDIT: Clarity
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
8,898
Country
United States
Who says the controller wasn't modified as well? The button and d-pad sensors are simple things that just send a signal when the connection is created. Bridging that connection to the same one internally on the 3DS would be simple for anybody that knows electronics.

The analog is a whole different story, that'd need it's own little controller to translate the signals, but you'll notice he didn't use the analog...
 

Xuphor

I have lied to all of you. I am deeply sorry.
Banned
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
1,681
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
USA
XP
1,430
Country
United States
Rydian said:
Who says the controller wasn't modified as well? The button and d-pad sensors are simple things that just send a signal when the connection is created. Bridging that connection to the same one internally on the 3DS would be simple for anybody that knows electronics.

The analog is a whole different story, that'd need it's own little controller to translate the signals, but you'll notice he didn't use the analog...

A USB device has 4 wires.
Even if you reprogram it that way, you could only get away with four button assignments UNLESS the 3DS has USB functionality. Without them using the SAME data transmitting code, you can only assign one button to one wire.

I know what I'm talking about here, please don't argue with me and essentially say I'm an idiot like you usually do, just let someone else if you still think I'm wrong. I REALLY REALLY do not want you hear you doing that crap to me again.
 

purplesludge

anyone have any ideas for this space
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,047
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
wv
Website
Visit site
XP
230
Country
United States
Rydian said:
Who says the controller wasn't modified as well? The button and d-pad sensors are simple things that just send a signal when the connection is created. Bridging that connection to the same one internally on the 3DS would be simple for anybody that knows electronics.

The analog is a whole different story, that'd need it's own little controller to translate the signals, but you'll notice he didn't use the analog...
Controller does look modified none of the wired controllers I've ever seen have that cord.
 

Xuphor

I have lied to all of you. I am deeply sorry.
Banned
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
1,681
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
USA
XP
1,430
Country
United States
KingVamp said:
I don't think it that serious and tbh, even it was real, it really unnecessary...

laugh.gif

True, even if this is somehow real, it's completely uneccisary, and seems like it's actually be more of a hassle to use instead of the 3DS itself.

Now if you could control the 360 (or PS3, or PC) with a 3DS...
unsure.gif
 

meornot0

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2009
Messages
111
Trophies
0
XP
70
Country
United States
Xuphor said:
Rydian said:
Who says the controller wasn't modified as well? The button and d-pad sensors are simple things that just send a signal when the connection is created. Bridging that connection to the same one internally on the 3DS would be simple for anybody that knows electronics.

The analog is a whole different story, that'd need it's own little controller to translate the signals, but you'll notice he didn't use the analog...

A USB device has 4 wires.
Even if you reprogram it that way, you could only get away with four button assignments UNLESS the 3DS has USB functionality. Without them using the SAME data transmitting code, you can only assign one button to one wire.

I know what I'm talking about here, please don't argue with me and essentially say I'm an idiot like you usually do, just let someone else if you still think I'm wrong. I REALLY REALLY do not want you hear you doing that crap to me again.
Usb has nothing to do with what Rydian said.
Hes talking about the actual digital signals. being wired to the 3ds's digital signals, bypassing usb completely.
Would would make perfect sense, and would be why he didnt use the analog stick.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Yaayyy my S pen arrived lol
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Next edition the IS pen
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Apple only lol
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    The white version is tiny our enhanced black xl version is only designed for bigger hands
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Pen is migthy.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    More mighty then the sword
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But only if the sword is very small, and the pen is very sharp.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    The sword is usually small if the pen is white
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Learning Java in school now.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Everyone is making fun of me for using light theme on the IDE.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    See color matters
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    as they should
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Light theme is the best.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    They also laughed at my light theme Discord.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i guess you like your retinas burned
  • Veho @ Veho:
    A screen doesn't have that kind of power output.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's besides the point
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i'm exaggerating to make a point
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    > i guess you like your retinas burned

    My retinas are fine, but thanks for the concern.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    You obviously never owned a HP display Veho
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    There is one other student using the light theme.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    This frostie blue cream soda is some good shit
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Tried some drag
    onfruit and chilli juice today. It was pretty good.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Chilli juice?
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Chilli juice?