x86 emulator on ds.

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Man18, Aug 17, 2008.

Aug 17, 2008

x86 emulator on ds. by Man18 at 6:46 AM (2,561 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. Man18
    OP

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Is there one?
     


  2. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Nope.
    x86 proc emulation on DS = Wow, that's FREAKIN' IMPOSSIBLE. UNLESS YOU'RE EMULATING A 5MHz 8086 CPU.
    Would be nice to have though.
     
  3. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    No. And there probably won't.
     
  4. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Since you obviously have no idea what you're talking about:

    It completely possible, but there would be no point to it.
     
  5. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States

    lol @ 5MHz 8086 emulation
    I know it's totally possible, just that it is pointless since... well it is.
    It'd be so slow that it'd be almost unusable.
     
  6. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Speed is not relevant at all.
     
  7. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Porting DOS to the ARM7 architecture works.
     
  8. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Which is completely irrelevant to the current discussion.
     
  9. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Just saying.
    Since an x86 emulator would be virtually useless, no there isn't one and there won't be.
     
  10. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    go urza go!
    [​IMG]
    you've just stated something that was already stated..
    and I thought you said there isn't one and there won't be cause of speed and because that is how it is. o.O
     
  11. Relys

    Member Relys Master of Computer Science

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    860
    Country:
    United States
    I thought you were joking at first.

    This is a sad day for humanity indeed.
     
  12. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    This is too confusing.
     
  13. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    then stay out
     
  14. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Atari ST did a pretty good job of 8086 enulation. It was just DOS obviously but it was good enough to play CGA/EGA games on it.
     
  15. Man18
    OP

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    with an x86 emu we could play old dos games.

    thing scumm but with a dos style game start.
     
  16. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    closest you will get I suppose is Speccy ds or AMEDS 2.0 Amstrad Emulator for ds [​IMG]

    that and the dos for ds that was released recently [​IMG]
     
  17. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    DOSbox for the DS. Runs at maybe 1 fps, if that, and has very little in the way of user input, but it works as a proof of concept.

    Runs Visicalc at least. Just make sure you edit the end of the config file to reflect the program you wish to run.
     
  18. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    It's possible and it is useful, could be used to play old DOS games.. or just to have a portable computer with DOS or some old Linux [​IMG]

    Good to know that someone is working on it.. if it gets optimized, it could run some games like Wolfenstein 3D and Prince of Persia.. would be great to be able to play those on the DS..
     
  19. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Hasn't Wolfenstein already been ported to the DS?

    Regardless, GPF abandoned the project long ago, though like his post at GBAdev states, anyone's free to email him for the sourcecode.
     
  20. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, Wolfenstein is on DS here, port is dead, though. Prince of Persia is available on the Amstrad CPC, Game Boy, Game Boy Color, Genesis, Master System, NES, SNES, Atari ST and ZX Spectrum, all of which are emulated to various degrees on the DS.
     

Share This Page