Hardware Write on SD without extract it?

Baoh

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 17, 2019
Messages
80
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
211
Country
Italy
Hi guys, there is a way to write on SD card without exctract it from the console?
Like see The switch like a normal USB device
 

Clydefrosch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
5,938
Trophies
2
XP
4,364
Country
Germany
Only ftp over wifi, but that's slow and dumb most of the time, taking the card out seems to remain the only real way to do this.

I had always hoped for a hekate payload to take the card out safely without having to turn the console off completely..
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
8,790
Trophies
2
XP
17,295
Country
United Kingdom
I had always hoped for a hekate payload to take the card out safely without having to turn the console off completely..
You can take the sd card out while hekate is loaded, as long as it's not actively doing something like a backup. You can also take the card out in rcm mode when no payload is loaded (blank screen).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Baoh

Clydefrosch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
5,938
Trophies
2
XP
4,364
Country
Germany
You can take the sd card out while hekate is loaded, as long as it's not actively doing something like a backup. You can also take the card out in rcm mode when no payload is loaded (blank screen).
I dunno about rcm mode.i feel like there were instances of being prompted to check the card for errors when taking it out in rcm, back when we just learned about the switch just booting itself back into rcm after a shutdown.

But if this is true about hekate, that would be cool. A mount/Unmount prompt would probably still be better for my personal peace of mind
 
Last edited by Clydefrosch,

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
8,790
Trophies
2
XP
17,295
Country
United Kingdom
I dunno about rcm mode.i feel like there were instances of being prompted to check the card for errors when taking it out in rcm, back when we just learned about the switch just booting itself back into rcm after a shutdown.
SD card isn't mounted in RCM mode unless a pushed payload mounts it, so it's not mounted in the blank screen before you push anything, and it's safe to remove. I'm assuming any incidents like you mentioned were caused before/during shutdown.
 

RHOPKINS13

Geek
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
1,311
Trophies
2
XP
2,273
Country
United States
nxmtp
Or memloader to do it from rcm mode.

sys-ftpd is good too for wifi transfer.

^ This guy knows what he's talking about.

If you're using TegraRcmGUI, you can load memloader directly from the tools tab. At this point your Switch is a glorified microSD card reader. It's probably the fastest way of transferring files to and from the Switch without ejecting the microSD card.

That being said, I don't really use it too much anymore. Sys-ftpd works great for transferring homebrew-related files wirelessly (I like using FileZilla as a client, but even Windows Explorer seems to work alright with it), and you don't even need to reboot your Switch to use it.

If you're installing NSPs, I recommend doing it over USB via Goldleaf. Very fast, it's much quicker than spending the time to copy the NSP to the microSD, and then installing it from there.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The wolf tried eating her but failed
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    God help us all
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    *little red riding hood grabs the shotgun*
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Well shit my ring camera needs charged I wonder what was stolen from me
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Just opened 10 youtube tabs on my phone in chrome. Not even half of half of 600MB. lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Which phone do you have
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    a nearly 6 yr old moto g5 plus
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Not saying its not happening for you. Your image is right there. I just dont know why yours is so high and mine is so low. :)
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It could be other factors high ram refresh rate etc
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    know a good app to double check? perhaps my phones own memory usage stats is full of shit. lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Samsung UI is probably a ram hog as it is
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Yeah. Could be a number of things. My old ass phone has a custom rom on it too so a lot of the bloat is gone, and its not using the moto UI
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, I'm using an XCover 5
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    re youtube on phones. Newpipe is the way
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    3x playback speed and no adverts plus whole load of other things.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Until it gets a lawsuit notice
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Not sure what path they would use for this one
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    On a different note entirely I randomly ended up on a hardware mods website. Lot of stuff for the GBA and DS it seems that I had missed entirely.
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    as well as the option to pay $2 for a surface mount standard fuse
  • Oleboy555 @ Oleboy555:
    i use re vanced
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    VPN YouTube premium $15 a year with a Turkey connection lol
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    D, E, F, G...
    K3N1 @ K3N1: