Workarounds for Skyrim (PS3 version)

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Costello, Dec 9, 2011.

Dec 9, 2011
  1. Costello
    OP

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    [​IMG]
    If you have acquired the PS3 version of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, you may already be suffering from serious lag issues which occur after about halfway into the game, or roughly a hundred hours of play time. As explained previously, the issues actually occur on all platforms but are more obvious with the PS3 version because of its limited amount of RAM; only 256 megabytes are available for game data on Sony's console.

    It's a very complex problem and that cannot be fixed as easily as one would wish, but Bethesda have said they will be able to resolve the issue in a later patch. In the meantime they have issued the following recommendations:
    • Disabling automatic saves seems to help, especially with large saves
    • Free up some space on your hard drive, make sure you have at least 2 gigabytes for caching
    • Use the "wait" feature in the game for at least 30 consecutive days if you want the game to "forget" game elements such as item and character location and position, places you've visited and so forth.
    These tips were posted by Bethesda's Senior community manager over at their official forums.
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Seriously stop writting posts at 3am, so much engrish in this :P
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    Although the PS3 version does look prettier than the 360 version, I'm getting pissed off at the lag. I've taken a break from the game until something is done about it.

    I have the PC version too (to mess around with mods and stuff after I've finished the game once), but I don't want to have to start over considering how little free time I have lately :(

    But thanks for the heads-up, I'll definitely give this a try.
     
  4. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Don't know why bethesda would release this game to the public if this game obviously wasn't done yet...
     
  5. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,350
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    it is done there's no lagg on the PC version :P
     
    2 people like this.
  6. phoenixclaws

    Member phoenixclaws GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is that Bethesda has a history of not fully testing their games on console hardward before release. Consider what happened to Fallout 3 as evidence.

    The game is finished but they must have expected a heavier hardware spec without checking it out first. The QA divison for Bethesda seems to be run very poorly.
     
  7. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Disabling automatic saves seems to help, especially with large saves

    This won't help large save files at all which is only adding to the problem
    .

    Free up some space on your hard drive, make sure you have at least 2 gigabytes for caching

    I have almost 200gb free, I doubt that will resolve the problem
    .

    Use the "wait" feature in the game for at least 30 consecutive days if you want the game to "forget" game elements such as item and character location and position, places you've visited and so forth.

    I doubt that will help the lag much, but I. Will try it anyway, the only thing that helps is restarting the game.
     
  8. MrDiesel

    Member MrDiesel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    My PC :)
    Country:
    Belgium
    You got something wrong there. The PS3 has 512MB of RAM available. The problem is that it's splitted in 256MB XDR Main and 256MB GDDR3 VRAM.
     
  9. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Does everyone knowing this fact change anything?
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Because otherwise people would (and already were) be complaining about the game taking too long to release.
     
  11. MrDiesel

    Member MrDiesel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    My PC :)
    Country:
    Belgium
    If you prefer having false information in an article, be my guest :)
     
  12. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,668
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Err... "only 256MB available to the game" means that the game can only use 256MB. And that's exactly what's happening there, since the other 256MBs are reserved as VRAM (that the game cannot directly use to store data). Thus, the article hasn't got any false information in it.
     
  13. Jiro2

    Member Jiro2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    749
    Country:
    United States
  14. Elrinth

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,795
    Location:
    Home @ UMEƅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sucks... I bought the game on my PS3. However I've not even fired it up. I finished it on my PC instead :) But that's only because I just purchased new gfxcard. hehe
     
  15. GameSoul

    Member GameSoul youtube.com/variantdevil

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    It seems like whenever Bethesda makes an amazing game, it's mucked up by lag and glitches.
     
  16. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    So it seems the limitations of the current-gen consoles are showing.

    Bring on the next gen!
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page