wood r4 problem

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by hughesy321, May 16, 2010.

May 16, 2010

wood r4 problem by hughesy321 at 5:27 PM (1,266 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. hughesy321
    OP

    Newcomer hughesy321 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United States
    I installed wood ver 1.07 it loads perfect until i try loading a game. It goes to a black screen says loading then both screens go white and just freezes. A save file is created but no game loads looked everywhere for solution but to no avail. PLEASE could someone help? [​IMG]
     
  2. Mages4ever

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    What game and cart?
     
  3. hughesy321
    OP

    Newcomer hughesy321 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United States
    r4 card and all my games not one of them loads just comes up black screen saying loading then flicks to duel white screens and just freezes
     
  4. Lumnous

    Member Lumnous GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What type of r4 card.
     
  5. Mages4ever

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Pictures or the site that it says on the box would be nice.
     
  6. hughesy321
    OP

    Newcomer hughesy321 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] this is my card exactly
     
  7. KevFan

    Member KevFan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Ireland
    if thats your card then its a clone since it supports sdhc
    therefore wood r4 wouldnt work on your card
     
  8. hughesy321
    OP

    Newcomer hughesy321 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United States
    well put wood r4 for clones on my card and it would not even get to the games list
     
  9. Stropdasje

    Member Stropdasje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Simple deduction:
    - Wood R4 doesn't work on R4 SDHC
    - Wood R4 for clones doesn't work on R4 SDHC
    - There are currently only 2 Wood R4 versions (although I don't know if Wood R4 for clones actually qualifies as a version)

    Conclusion: None of the Wood R4 versions work on the R4 SDHC.

    Now this is not a surprise at all, the R4 DS forum is chock-full of messages from R4 SDHC owners reporting that Wood R4 doesn't work on their card. Apparently R4 SDHC owners have either a reading problem or seem to assume that when they keep asking over and over for long enough the obvious reality will change by magic.

    Even putting a lock on the clone topic doesn't seem to stop R4 SDHC owners from asking, now they just make new threads.

    This post is most likely pointless too since the next R4 SDHC owner will not bother to read up either before posting. My question is if it is possible to change the moderation on this forum to have some pre-checking before allowing a posting to pass to the board (instead of removing a posting when it is not appropriate afterwards). This would prevent a lot of pointless clutter.
     
  10. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Stropdasje, that is a wonderfully put post. OP, you should hone your skills with the seach function and google.
     
  11. hughesy321
    OP

    Newcomer hughesy321 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United States
    well when you read other posts on this forum http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=221023 first thing that it shows is the software to download then underneath it says comfirmed working on R4 SDHC. So my searching skills are ok and are everybody elses, so my advice to the moderators on this site why let pompous, egocentric, narcissistic people be members. Even worse why let members be cheerleaders (jurassicplyer) and egg them on. I only asked for some help stropadjse but hell i would must rather not have help than have you try and be little members for your own satisfaction.
     
  12. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    When you read the other posts, they talk about how its untested until someone says it works on the R4SDHC, but I'm guessing you would be able to infer that the ones provided are modified to work with the R4SDHC because I'm assuming you know that originally the woodR4 only works on R4 originals, thus you would also be able to infer that since the link provided on said thread is for WoodR4 version 1.05, one would feel the need to attempt searching if there is a modded version of WoodR4 1.07 by the same person (or any modded version at all) that says it would work for some clone. At this point, I'm hoping you realize the thread of thought behind this in saying that nothing in this line of logic comes close to insisting that the inital release of woodR4 v1.07 would work on a clone.

    Taking into account the time and date of the latest posts on the problem with WoodR4 + R4SDHC, you would have been able to deduce that they are all talking about how the project has gotten nowhere and thus many other people have the exact problem you have.

    I commend your ability to at least search before asking, though for the logical path stated above, I continue to urge you to hone your skills at searching. If we seem like "pompous, egocentric, narcissistic people" it is mainly due to the fact that we see the same question repeated for ever version of WoodR4 and it does get tiresome without poking a few nubs to keep ourselves amused, though that fact stated, we do try to always give the correct answer regardless of how many times it is asked. So with our "pompous, egocentric, narcissistic" attitude, we will try our best to give you the answer to your question in the most quick, amusing, harsh words possible so that other nubs may find this thread and use these posts as a deterrent for posting the same/similar questions which a logical and refined search can provide the answer for.

    As for my cheerleading, its only when there is a really funny phrase and is in no way intended to have a negative effect (sorry if you ended up taking the rest of it the wrong way).
     

Share This Page