WOOD Menu Music?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ultimate.fake.ac, Dec 28, 2010.

Dec 28, 2010

WOOD Menu Music? by ultimate.fake.ac at 4:50 PM (1,535 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. ultimate.fake.ac
    OP

    Member ultimate.fake.ac GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    I was asked today if it is possible to put a song to be background music on the WOOD menus. I never really thought about it before but it seems like a nice option to have. I've done a couple quick searches but haven't found anything on it. Is it possible to setup a song as background music for the menus?
     
  2. Alex658

    Member Alex658 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Country:
    Venezuela
  3. ultimate.fake.ac
    OP

    Member ultimate.fake.ac GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I sent him a brief message, now its up to him [​IMG]
     
  4. Gamer4life

    Member Gamer4life I am the Orange Gamer

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    not gonna be possible imo
     
  5. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    I think it is possible (heh heh, though I use MS2 anyways)...just not probable...
     
  6. PeregrinFig

    Member PeregrinFig A miserable little pile of secrets

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I think the only reason it couldn't be done now would be the lack of a player. If Moonshell could be somehow integrated into the firmware it would likely be easy to set a .mp3 file to play upon startup.
     
  7. ultimate.fake.ac
    OP

    Member ultimate.fake.ac GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    Well it sounded like a good idea, so I've passed it on. For him it is probably possible as jurrassicplayer says, but whether or not he cares will determine it. That and a dose of how much effort and time it will take will probably influence his decision [​IMG]
     
  8. Lost Wisdom

    Newcomer Lost Wisdom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Mean Streets of Compton
    Country:
    United States
    why would want menu music anyway? its only going to eat up more battery life.
     
  9. ultimate.fake.ac
    OP

    Member ultimate.fake.ac GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    As much as I like to spend long hours on the menu screens, I doubt it will be too significant of a battery drain in the long run. Its just a cool option imo.
     
  10. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    o.0 How would it eat up more battery life...you mean just for the speakers? In any case, it wouldn't eat up as much battery time as the DSTWO or iSMM...
     
  11. tranfeer

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    Of course, it is possible.
     
  12. goncalodoom

    Member goncalodoom GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    The ds has a bad sound quality why would you want to listen to music on it?
    Buy an MP3 player and listen to it while using your ds xD isnt that a great idea? LOL
     
  13. ultimate.fake.ac
    OP

    Member ultimate.fake.ac GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    I've been told this has been added to the todo list [​IMG] pretty low priority thing but still cool imo.

    Thanks YWG [​IMG]
     
  14. rave420

    Member rave420 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Canada
    it would eat up more battery in the sense that a lot more reads / access / memory transfers and computations are made just to play music in the background.

    The more reads are done the faster the batery will eventually drain.
    Even though you may never feel this effect to any appreciable extend just with bg music.

    it's all a matter of someone being willing to write a player that plays in the background. Is moonshel open source? If so, it would be a matter of embedding a player into an invisible field on the screen, or even better, a seperate loop that runs in the background (so the music doesn't restart every time you switch screens)
     
  15. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    From what I'm to understand Moonshell/Moonshell2 are based off opensource works and therefor should be opensource themselves.
    However, Moonlight hasn't released the source to Moonshell2 publicly. Supposedly some people have the source to an older version (my guess is around the 2.01 Final version), but they don't seem too eager to give it up either.
    Giving out the sourcecode (I think) would also make it trivial for someone who knows how to code to bypass or remove many of the restrictions that Moonlight put on the newer versions of MS2, the biggest of which is launching commercial ROMs through a loader.
     
  16. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    The source code for Moonshell2.00beta5 is available, but that should be the only open source version there is...and of course, it had to be the version where there was supposedly a fatal bug hidden somewhere (can't recall the bug at the moment...it was a long while back xD).
     
  17. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Why should that be the only opensource version?
    The app is based on opensource work (GPL I believe) which prevents it from being used in closed source/distributed in binary (compiled) only format.

    Or do you mean it's the only version that had it's source distributed?
     
  18. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, this is what I mean. I think it might be on filetrip actually.
     

Share This Page