Wireless Local Multiplayer Not Working

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by feds4u, Jul 24, 2009.

Jul 24, 2009
  1. feds4u
    OP

    Banned feds4u Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    In your neighborhood.
    Country:
    United States
    Hello and thanks for reading. I recently purchased the AceKard 2i from GameByGame.com using a link I found on this site.

    I am using the latest Akaio Firmware and a new DSi system. The same goes for my friend who has the exact same hardware and flash card as me.

    Basically we cant play any wireless local multiplayer. I know my wifi is turned on. However the Wifi icon in ever multiplayer game remains red and we cannot connect to each other for multiplayer gaming.

    Please help. Many thanks.
     
  2. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Have you tried turning on "Download Play" in the AKAIO settings?
     
  3. feds4u
    OP

    Banned feds4u Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    In your neighborhood.
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. That was the first thing I checked.
     
  4. feds4u
    OP

    Banned feds4u Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    In your neighborhood.
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, after many hours of experimentation I think I discovered the problem.

    Its the AceKard 2i.

    I tried both official firmware and Akaio and had the same problems with the same games. (There was only one major difference, the soft reset actually works on the official firmware)

    Games like Zoo Keeper and LOL do not work on the AceKard 2i. I'm actually a big fan of Zoo Keeper so this is a major disappointment to me. Hopefully the great team behind the Akaio firmware can sort out this problem. If not, I'm probably going to dump this cart and go with another DSi compatible cart.

    I've already tried one of the new DSi compatible R4 cards and they did not have this problem.
     
  5. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    Soft-reset is broken in the latest public loaders. You have to use the loaders from the 1.4.1 proper pack.
     
  6. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    As far as i know 99.9% of all games work on ak2i, someone tested all 3500 or so games at the time and reported back any problems and i quickly fixed them and released loader updates for them. Since then i've kept an eye out for problems with games and all should be working in akaio 1.5.
     
  7. raing3

    Member raing3 CNET_Richard

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    [​IMG] wow, someone tested that many games, that's crazy.
     
  8. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Haha, is that like, one person that tested every game, or just that someone of many tested each game?
     
  9. phoenixclaws

    Member phoenixclaws GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, I contemplated doing just that thing with my ak2i but i see somebody already beat me to it..
    btw it's over 4000 games now [​IMG].
     
  10. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    yea but what was tested was if games booted, the person didn't play them all. this is why we stress how important it is to report problems so that they can get fixed. someone should go and test all of the local wifi games with/between ndsl(s) and ndsi(s) using 2.1(s) and 2i(s).

    that is the only way to be really sure.

    @phoenixclaws: when i was working on the nesds compatibility list it was over 12,000 roms. =P

    -another world
     
  11. feds4u
    OP

    Banned feds4u Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    In your neighborhood.
    Country:
    United States
    Gentleman.

    I really admire your dedication in coding and testing. Thanks for all the hardwork and thanks for posting in my topic.

    I eagerly await Akaio 1.5. Best wishes and good luck.
     
  12. feds4u
    OP

    Banned feds4u Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    In your neighborhood.
    Country:
    United States
    Is anything being done about this problem? Last night I was playing with friends and we came across a few more games that have non functioning local multi-player.

    Whomever wrote the review for this card should have mentioned this important issue. Honestly, had I known about this problem I would have chosen a different card. I know that I will discourage anyone I know from buying the Acekard because of this issue. Its almost like the testers have no friends, lol. But seriously, I'd be happy to test any local wifi games if it will help the cause.
     
  13. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Which games in particular are you trying?
     
  14. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    people have reported ak2-to-ak2, ak2.1-to-ak2.1, ak2i-to-ak2i local wifi problems. so try connecting using a different card with the ak2i and test the same roms. i've run a bunch of tests between black pcb ak2.1s, the same msd, same set up, same roms, and had no problems.

    -another world
     
  15. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    I was playing GTA on my Acekard 2i with AKAIO multiplayer with my cousin who has YSmenu on his R4(original). It started up fine but after 3 seconds it just said connection failed please try again... I know its not the R4s problem because I also have a R4 and I tried the game with my R4 and his R4 both with YSmenu and it worked fine...

    By the way on the Acekard Download Play for the game was Default.
     
  16. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you trimming the games first? If you are then what trimmer are you using?
     

Share This Page