Homebrew Windows on the New 3DS

LarBob

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2013
Messages
370
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
511
Country
United States
There is already a thread about this created by shutterbug2000, but the author didn't really provide a tutorial or more info. I have added an smdh file for the logo, info, etc. and also got Windows 98 to work, so I figured there might be a separate thread for my version with the smdh file prepackaged, as well as batch files to launch Windows 95, 98, and 3.1.
Here is an imgur album of it in the grid launcher: http://imgur.com/a/xO4Qo
Here are YouTube videos of 95, 98, and 3.1:

  • To install: Put the contents of this zip into /3ds/retroarch_3ds. (if there is no folder called that, create one)
  • It will show up in the homebrew loader with a classic Windows logo.
  • For Windows 3.1, put a WINDOWS folder into the retroarch_3ds folder
  • For Windows 98, put an image of the system into the retroarch_3ds folder called W98.img
  • For Windows 95, put an image of the system into the retroarch_3ds folder called W95.img
  • Once you load up Windows N3DS, go to Load Content -> Select File -> smdc:/ -> 3ds -> retroarch_3ds -> and choose which OS you want to run. ld31.bat = Windows 3.1, ld98.bat = Windows 98, ld95.bat = Windows 95
  • Once it is loaded, you may have to change settings to allow you to move the arrow keys with the d-pad, to press enter using start, etc. by doing this:
  • Open settings by pressing bottom screen, press b, go to settings, input, input user 1 binds. Change User 1 device type to Joystick (4axis/4buttons + kbd arrows) and then go back to the main screen. Save current config. You can then press the bottom screen again to resume the Windows startup.
  • With this setting, D-PAD = Arrow keys, Start = Enter, Select = Esc
If you decide to use Windows 98, I recommend using a build of 98lite Professional if you can (for startup time).
I hope I helped you guys! Remember, this currently only works on New 3DS models. You will probably get a red screen if you try on the O3DS. It just doesn't work right now.
 
Last edited by LarBob,
D

Deleted User

Guest
The only thing I'd add here is that the Start and Select buttons become Enter and Escape, respectively, once you change the joystick type to what you mentioned. Other than that, this looks good! From the look of it in shutterbug2000's thread, a lot of people needed this.
 

LarBob

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2013
Messages
370
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
511
Country
United States
The only thing I'd add here is that the Start and Select buttons become Enter and Escape, respectively, once you change the joystick type to what you mentioned. Other than that, this looks good! From the look of it in shutterbug2000's thread, a lot of people needed this.
Whoops, added. No problem. This also includes an smdh for logo, author information, my own batches for different Windows versions, etc.
 

Xen0

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2015
Messages
510
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
1,551
Country
Germany
Does this have like the complete power of older Win versions? Within the ability to install games and so on?
 

LarBob

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2013
Messages
370
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
511
Country
United States
Does this have like the complete power of older Win versions? Within the ability to install games and so on?
Yes, but sadly we don't have a kernel exploit for FWs over 9.2 so it is limited by that speed wise. There's no KB + M support currently as well, but that should be out soon.
 

dubbz82

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
1,572
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
1,178
Country
United States
I'd be curious if this could be altered to run ReactOS, since the idea of that is, after all, to be binary compatible with Windows......

EDIT: to respond to the guy above me, theoretically it could run (cracked versions of) games, however I'd not expect it to run them at any sort of playable speed, given the current startup times...
 
Last edited by dubbz82,

dubbz82

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
1,572
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
1,178
Country
United States
ReactOS is supposed to be compatible with NT 5-based Windows, not 9x.


Good point....I'd be curious if there's some specific differences with NT based OS's though that would prevent them from booting using this method, or if it's simply just too resource intensive.
 
Last edited by dubbz82,

LarBob

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2013
Messages
370
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
511
Country
United States
Good point....I'd be curious if there's some specific differences with NT based OS's though that would prevent them from booting using this method, or if it's simply just too resource intensive.
The NT kernel is totally different from Windows 9x. NT is separate from DOS and definitely would not boot on this, as it uses DOSBox.
 

dubbz82

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
1,572
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
1,178
Country
United States
The NT kernel is totally different from Windows 9x. NT is separate from DOS and definitely would not boot on this, as it uses DOSBox.

Ah. Hadn't honestly read into it a whole ton to realize that it utilizes DOSBox. Makes sense in that case.
 

LarBob

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2013
Messages
370
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
511
Country
United States
Ah. Hadn't honestly read into it a whole ton to realize that it utilizes DOSBox. Makes sense in that case.
Well, in this case RetroArch's implementation of DOSBox

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

possible to play games like Diablo 2?
Technically yes, but I would wait until KB + M and kernel level exploitation
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJihqk7XIXY bruh that producer tag caught me so off-guard