1. twindtrout9783

    OP twindtrout9783 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I need a capture device so that I can record gameplay of my Xbox 360. Would this work? It does say that it upscales, which is something that I don't want to do. My Xbox 360 outputs video at 1360x768, and I upload to youtube, so I don't want upscale raw recordings.

    If there are any better HDMI capture devices, can you give me links to them?
    Also, my computer doesn't have a sound card, so I can only do audio through USB (input and output)
     
  2. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,704
    Country:
    It will work, however quality will depend on your computer specs. Audio should work through HDMI/USB, although note that you might suffer a delay using that capture device unless you are using a HDMI splitter.

    I personally use an Elgato/Corsair HD60, or the S(lim) version, but mostly anything works for 1080p or below, as long as you’ve got the CPU power to transcode it.
     
  3. MrCokeacola

    MrCokeacola Xbox Connoisseur
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Canada
    It will work. But there's cheaper options for recording 720p.
     
  4. RandomUser

    RandomUser What has gotten into you Rosie?
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    United States
    I used this Startech version and it works really well. You also get a wide array of capture options like composite & component. You may need a high end computer and depending on the capture settings, a fast storage, since it uses USB 3.0 interface.
     
  5. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,741
    Country:
    Norway
    No HDMI passthrough though? Elgato HD60S has passthrough and is smaller and cheaper as well.
    I don't know anything about that capture card but I have an Elgato HD60S myself and it works great, so I can recommend that.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2020
  6. RandomUser

    RandomUser What has gotten into you Rosie?
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    United States
    You're right, no HDMI passthrough, and now thinking back on it, I believe I bought the hardware before the Elgato HD even had a USB 3.0 interface. Before it just had USB 2.0. I also had have an 4K HDMI splitter so that wasn't really an issue.

    Edit:
    As for the Startech being bigger and more expensive, it does have more recording options then the Elgato.

    Found the dimension of both product and the Startech is not much bigger then the Elgato either:
    Elgato: 4.4 x 3 x 0.75 in
    Startech: 4.5 x 3 x 1 in
    So a negligible size differences.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2020
    MrCokeacola likes this.
  7. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,741
    Country:
    Norway
    If he wants passthrough with the Startech one, he could get a HDMI splitter and plug one output into the capture card and the other into the TV.
    On the other hand, he could get a cheap upscaler box in order to plug other types of inputs into an Elgato.
    Elgato + upscaler is cheaper, it won't have VGA support though, but that has limited usefulness.
    I guess either option is fine. Just depends on what's more important to have built in (passthrough or VGA/composite/component)
     
  8. twindtrout9783

    OP twindtrout9783 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for all of your help, but I found this instead.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - capture,