Will streaming Iso's Over Network ever be possible?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by earthworm, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. earthworm
    OP

    Newcomer earthworm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Canada
    The Topic says it all....just wondering what the general consensus is out there on this possibility? Would the read speed be fast enough, etc?
     
  2. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you complete pirate, i know piracy is getting worse, but with topics like this fuck me... beyond a joke.
     
  3. earthworm
    OP

    Newcomer earthworm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Canada
    Haha, thanks for the advice but some of us actually bought and own a wack of games.....especially my two dozen + gamecube games I've bought over the years! One of the main reasons for doing such a thing is convenience....the same reason I copied the 150 + DVD's I've bought (in stores) and ripped them onto my external hard drive and stream through my ps3 via tversity [​IMG]
     
  4. Matt93

    Member Matt93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    469
    Country:
    United States
    This kind of stuff is what these forums are for. If you don't like it then leave. This isn't about discussing the motives for using loaders and such. Not everyone who uses them is a pirate. Quit complaining.
     
  5. bp2000

    Member bp2000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    yay google flatmii
     
  6. earthworm
    OP

    Newcomer earthworm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah....i did hear about the flatmii....that's what got me thinking about the topic....but obviously that's a hardware mod....just wondering in regards to a soft mod [​IMG]
     
  7. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    here's an idea just use the search function and youd know that a bunch of topics like this already exist....
    use the search function....
    just because peoples status says NEWBIE does not mean you have to act like one...

    -kitt050383

    MODZ please lock this topic or delete it...
    thanks!
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    2 easy questions:
    1. What's the wifi speed on the Wii in KB/s?
    2. What's the reading speed for discs in MB/s?
     
  9. games2007

    Member games2007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    United States
    Because it's a connection right from your computer to your wii, it would load at an okay speed. Check out Flatmii.
     
  10. slaphappygamer

    Member slaphappygamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    yes and no. topic closed.
     
  11. dmonkey21

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    This is a sad shape this forum is in... just because lots of people post noob topic questions about loaders and such doesn't mean NOTHING should be posted. This is still a place for discussions... I just used the search function and did NOT find any topics directly pertaining to this anyway...
     
  12. dajavax

    Member dajavax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Monterrey
    Country:
    Mexico
    im sure it won't be soon, they just managed to make the wii don't notice the difference between a backup and a retail disc with the CIOS, they haven't managed or gotten near the point where you could play without using a dvd... actually flatmii is a dvd-drive emulator basically so it still is the same... to play games from a place they are not meant to be played from is really hard to ever happen... you can play psp games from the memory card because playing from isos was a feature from the first firmwares... nds plays flashcart because it's actually a cart... you can't play gba games from a slot-1 because you are not using slot-2 (gba one)... so just putting examples from other consoles...
     
  13. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Probably not. The wii can stream data to the computer at about 500-2000kb per second whihc would not be enough to play the game.
     
  14. Teh Great Michea

    Banned Teh Great Michea Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Stone Mountain GA
    Country:
    United States
     
  15. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    So True Man...

    Edit: Man, my new avatar is way better than my old one [​IMG]
     
  16. Teh Great Michea

    Banned Teh Great Michea Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Stone Mountain GA
    Country:
    United States
     
  17. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Good idea [​IMG]

    I was wondering the same thing [​IMG]
     
  18. SFenton

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    I love my PSP. But really, the piracy rate is too high.
    C'mon guys, at least RENT Resistance Retribution... [​IMG]
     
  19. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He already said he owns his games, it's just the convenience of loading them over the LAN he wants.

    OR HERES AN IDEA, LETS NOT BOTHER READING ANYTHING AND JUST START TALKING CRAP.

    Welcome to GBATemp, where people who've been on the site for 3 months call others newbs even though they don't bother reading anything.

    Muppets.

    In response to the question, I don't reckon it will ever be possible. It would mean taking control of the networking stack and keeping control of it while the game runs. I'm pretty sure the Wii wouldn't let you do that.
     
  20. Don Killah

    Member Don Killah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,127
    Country:
    France
    i love the alternate ending ^^
     

Share This Page