Will my PS3 recognize my CFW PSP?

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Nayr Rosfar, Dec 13, 2011.

Dec 13, 2011
  1. Nayr Rosfar
    OP

    Member Nayr Rosfar White Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Wherever the next link takes me.
    Country:
    United States
    Probably sounds stupid. But I've got a PSP running CFW 5.00 M33-6(Old I know, haven't used it in awhile.) and I wanna connect it to my 4.00 PS3 so I can move my Final Fantasy VII file over to my PSP for storage.

    But what I don't know is what exactly will happen when they connect. Will the PS3 and Sony just accept it and be none the wiser, or will the firmware be logged and sent back to Sony who will then proceed to ban my PSN account?
     
  2. DeltaBladeX

    Member DeltaBladeX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Best not to. I'm pretty sure you need to have a certain minimum to connect to PS3, same as when connecting to PSN / MediaGo, and a old CFW just isn't going to register as the correct firmware.
     
  3. MadHouse38

    Member MadHouse38 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Gaming room.
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    Yeah you might get banned,im not sure.
     
  4. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @OP. Dunno if it'll connect, it might tell you to update.
    You can't move PS1 games over to your PSP anymore, you need to redownload them and I think they appear on your XMB ready to install to your PS3 or move to your PSP. If you've already installed it to your PS3, you need to redownload.
    No you won't get banned.
     
  5. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,406
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I could connect my PSP M33-6 without problem with my PS3 ofw 3.41 to act as storage device, and to transfer a PS1 save from PSP to PS3.
    Though, I don't have a PSN account (and wouldn't be able to use it anyway as I'm not using 4.x), so I don't know if you could get banned or not.
    I don't know about transferring a complete game, I don't have any to try.


    I think you won't be banned as I never heard it happened to anyone yet.
    But I can't be 100% sure.
    They could change their policy.
     
  6. Nayr Rosfar
    OP

    Member Nayr Rosfar White Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Wherever the next link takes me.
    Country:
    United States
    Well my PS3 is telling me to connect my PSP.

    And they let you buy PSP games over the PS3.

    So they must let you do it. I just wanted to know if it's safe to do it with a CFW.
     
  7. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh I forgot, you need to sign into PSN on your PSP before you transfer any games.

    So yeah, you'll need to update.
     
  8. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    i have a 5,00 m33-6 PSP and a ps3 on 4.00 OFW

    the ps3 see the psp as a PSP (if is not seeing the psp as a PSP, then some if the ID keys might be messed up(it happens with psp, that were downgraded at some point)

    i needed to edit the Version.txt in flash0 to show 6.60(or higher) and enable "use Version.txt" in the Recovery menu
    activation was tricky as the PS3 gave me a error when i tried to the activation for the PSP
    but i was able to get Game activation to work but doing it on the PC using the qriocity webstie

    just so you know with 4.00 ps3 FW
    you older PSN PSP downloads you have installed to the PS3, don't work
    you need to RE-DOWNLOAD the PSP item from you Download list
    when you go it install it, you will be installed right to the PSP
     
  9. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I'm on 6.60 Pro B10.1, upon connection it fakes firmware number to be 9.99 == problem solved, PS3 accepts it. Attempted remote play on Liar - worked just fine. Moving save files worked aswell.
     

Share This Page