Will DS/DSi flash carts work on the 3DS?

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Costello, Feb 18, 2011.

Feb 18, 2011
  1. Costello
    OP

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    With the near release of the Nintendo 3DS, we should soon be in a position to answer the following questions:
    • Will regular Nintendo DS (DSi-compatible) flash carts work on the 3DS?
    • Will the CycloDS iEvolution, only DSi flashcart unlocking DSi mode features, be compatible with the 3DS?
    • Will we ever see full fledged 3DS flashcarts?
    As soon as we can provide answers to any of the above questions, we will immediately inform our readers here at GBAtemp. We have already established that, unsurprisingly, old DS-only flash carts (e.g. Acekard 2.1, CycloDS Evolution, R4 DS...) that were not DSi compatible, aren't 3DS compatible either.
    Stay tuned for more news in the coming days!
     


  2. Ace Overclocked

    Member Ace Overclocked My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,106
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    Italy
    nice
    i hope my r4i-sdhc will work
     
  3. GH0ST

    Member GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    I was here... before...
    Country:
    France
    I bet the CycloDSi will be the only one to work ... if any ^
     
  4. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Your all wrong. I know Nintendo good enough that they will block all of them, WITH ALL OF THEM I mean every flashcard! No exceptions; even if you think 'that' flashcard is the best. Nintendo WON´T spare it.

    [​IMG]

    prove my wrong with a objection.
     
  5. GH0ST

    Member GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    I was here... before...
    Country:
    France
    OBJECTION ! The 3DS was in production before the iEvolution [​IMG]
     
  6. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    I doubt the flashcarts will work without an update.
    The Supercard team did say that "even though the 3DS will feature new anti-piracy protection mechanisms, the possibilities offered by the SCDSTWO's embedded CPU will allow them to find a workaround quickly".
    --
    Theoretically, we should be able to run DS flashcarts on the 3DS by pretending to be a legit game card.
    Correct me if I'm wrong
     
  7. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Slight objection. Since it irritates people Ill stop.

    They could change the software at the final production!(I mean before they packed etc. they made a small change in the software.)

    @SoulSnatcher, ghehe silly me... ofcourse they won´t work. There is a way to let them burn in the hell... Yeah there could be an update that make them work; but I should not trust Nintendo.
     
  8. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Just stop posting OBJECTION. It's annoying and childish.
    Anyways, they probably won't be able to change anything in the OS if the 3DS is already being produced. If they did, they would have to delay the launch of the 3DS to update every system already produced.
     
  9. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ghehe could be. but Nintendo has magic(I dunno but whoever knows) But your right. Objection overruled...

    C´mon I just got my first Phoenix game so I was unable to forfeit it in a post, and my deepest excuse for doing childish.

    I think that they still blocked as much as possible since most flashcards are used for piracy.
     
  10. nintendoom

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Im hoping not to [​IMG]
     
  11. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Doubt my Acekard 2i Will work, maybe my DSTWO will but I doubt it.I'll be getting a 3DS for christmas anyways so no hurry.

    Acekard 3 [​IMG]
     
  12. MarcusRaven

    Member MarcusRaven HBC Theme Maker

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    N. Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Well, if EZ-Flash Vi works, I'm set. If not, then I guess I have a reason to let my wife keep our DSi XL.
     
  13. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    I think flashcart on 3DS will happen very fast (for DS Mode only, maybe DSi if Cyclo Ievolution works), except if 3DS has some kind of "hypervisor", if the 3DS mode can run as a background process while running DS mode game, and detect if only one ARM9 and ARM7 executable is launched (correct me if I'm wrong, but retail games only launch one arm7+9 exe?) then it will be harder, flashcart might work, but they will not be capable of soft-reset/launching several games.
     
  14. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,927
    Country:
    United States
    HA HA HA AH HA!

    No.
    No.

    ....and still no! XD

    you think Nintendo would let one slip under the radar?

    They probably made some "changes" to make it not work with the Cyclo iEvolution just lately
     
  15. Stevetry

    Banned Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico

    who says ?
     
  16. darkworldz

    Newcomer darkworldz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Singapore
    lets hope Nintendo will sue cyclo, supercard, acekard, ez flash, r4 etc like how Sony did and appeal to obtain IP address of all people on gbatemp. LOL
     
  17. Ziggy Zigzagoon

    Member Ziggy Zigzagoon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I echo that! /has played Phoenix Wright himself/
    I seriously think that special 3DS PASSME cards should be first made, but I am not sure if current cards would be turned into 3DS PASSMEs.
     
  18. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,927
    Country:
    United States

    best be trollin'! [​IMG]

    I know you're joking...but if a exploit is released for 3DS too early..Nintendo might actually look at sony and say...

    "we have more money to make with this device...we don't want to spend the money to create another more secure motherboard...

    lets sue the bastard!"

    Team Twiizers - "come n' get me!" [​IMG]
     
  19. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    GH0ST says.
     
  20. GH0ST

    Member GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    I was here... before...
    Country:
    France
    No way. We are very close to the 3DS release date in Japan (February 26) and the Cyclo iEvolution's bootstrap for Japan... is not yet released ( and it is only possible to switch to DSi mode if your region matches the region of the bootstrap currently installed).
     

Share This Page