XP
Country
Canada
Intel HD graphics
Intel Core i5-8250U
Processor Cores 4
Processor Speed 1.6 GHz
8GB Ram

Looking for a laptop that’s cheap (which is why I’m leaning towards one with integrated graphics) and can run GameCube games smoothly. The sale ends in a few days so your input is greatly aappreciated

Davidchao23

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm no Dolphin expert, but I think 1.6 GHz is a bit low for running games, however I can't say much because I only have an Acer laptop and Dolphin runs like shit on here.

RaptorDMG

Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Based on this video:
You should be able to play games fine but your laptop will likely get quite hot during gameplay
The CPU has a turbo boost to 3.4GHz so it should be fine

Last edited by RaptorDMG,

Ryab

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Intel HD graphics
Intel Core i5-8250U
Processor Cores 4
Processor Speed 1.6 GHz
8GB Ram

Looking for a laptop that’s cheap (which is why I’m leaning towards one with integrated graphics) and can run GameCube games smoothly. The sale ends in a few days so your input is greatly aappreciated
most likely no

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
(Hope it's not too late for a reply, because the test took some time)

Test-computer: Laptop with Intel Core i5-4200M CPU @ 2.50GHz / openSUSE Leap 15.0
Dolphin version from http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/Emulators/openSUSE_Leap_15.0/x86_64/
(dolphin-emu-5.0+git.1540367980.dc5a678fca-lp150.2.1.x86_64.rpm) 24-Oct-2018

All Dolphin-settings on default, Dolphin running with internal graphics. Although the Laptop has an Nvidia secondary GPU and optirun works for other applications, Dolphin did not work with it - so sadly no comparison what impact the better GPU would have had on the performance.

1.: GameCube
Super Mario Sunshine → full speed
Luigis Mansion → full speed
Mario Kart Double Dash → full speed