Homebrew WiiU Video Mode Changer

FIX94

Former Staff
OP
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
7,284
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
???
XP
11,238
Country
Germany
I did not see any application like this yet so I made one.
This allows quick changes in the currently displayed video mode, its also temporary so after a reboot or something like that the settings will be reset to the ones you set in the system settings.
https://github.com/FIX94/wiiu-video-mode-changer/releases
You can change between NTSC and PAL, all the different ports (hdmi, composite, s-video, scart and component) and change the resolution (576i, 480i, 720p, ...) to whatever you want, I did not include any safety guards for invalid settings so keep that in mind (you wont for example get composite to go to 720p etc.).
Personally I just made this to make it possible to output s-video on my pal wiiu and it does that job fine, only downside so far seems to be that in wii mode the settings also get lost, I guess changing into wii mode does count as a reboot...
Anyways, hopefully somebody finds this useful.
 

FIX94

Former Staff
OP
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
7,284
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
???
XP
11,238
Country
Germany
I'm not smart enough to understand this but is the system settings not good enough? :unsure:
if you have a pal wiiu, you are for example forced to have composite/scart and cant switch to composite/s-video and on a ntsc wiiu theres the opposite issue, also there seem to be quite a few video modes normally not accessable, if somebody has a 3d tv I do wonder if the 720p 3d setting actually works for that person because it does seem to be an option.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DarthDub and OrGoN3

pwsincd

Garage Flower
Developer
Joined
Dec 4, 2011
Messages
3,686
Trophies
2
Location
Manchester UK
XP
4,462
if you have a pal wiiu, you are for example forced to have composite/scart and cant switch to composite/s-video and on a ntsc wiiu theres the opposite issue, also there seem to be quite a few video modes normally not accessable, if somebody has a 3d tv I do wonder if the 720p 3d setting actually works for that person because it does seem to be an option.

didnt try the app yet ,, did u include a 3d option .. as i have a 3d tv i could hook up to try this
 

FIX94

Former Staff
OP
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
7,284
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
???
XP
11,238
Country
Germany
didnt try the app yet ,, did u include a 3d option .. as i have a 3d tv i could hook up to try this
I did not add any limitations as I wrote in the first post, so I included every weird setting thats available including some comment to what happens setting it on my tv with my cables.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DarthDub

wiiztec

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
436
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
368
Country
United States
Could this be made to always be loaded into memory and use say the TV button to switch resolution quickly at any time? Maybe use a cfg file to determine what resolutions you want it to cycle through
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
I'm more curious if anyone plans on adding some sort of reboot support, at least to vwii. Since that would mean... theoretically (not sure, and I'm not 100% sure on how this entirely works... so don't burn me) but this could allow Nintendont to finally allow pal bioses to load on a ntsc vwii, without screwing things up.
 

FIX94

Former Staff
OP
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
7,284
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
???
XP
11,238
Country
Germany
I'm more curious if anyone plans on adding some sort of reboot support, at least to vwii. Since that would mean... theoretically (not sure, and I'm not 100% sure on how this entirely works... so don't burn me) but this could allow Nintendont to finally allow pal bioses to load on a ntsc vwii, without screwing things up.
sadly its not an issue with that, it even fails on my pal wiiu.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
sadly its not an issue with that, it even fails on my pal wiiu.
Rip. It's rather unfortunate that even a pal wiiu vwii doesn't have compatibility with pal bios. So what is the cause?
 
Last edited by ,

FIX94

Former Staff
OP
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
7,284
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
???
XP
11,238
Country
Germany
Rip. It's rather unfortunate that even a pal wiiu vwii doesn't have compatibility with pal bios. So what is the cause?
nobody really knows but its quite possibly to do with the video interface chip now being emulated and it just does not seem to support whatever the pal bios sets so it glitches out heavily instead.
 

N7Kopper

Lest we forget... what Nazi stood for.
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
975
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,294
Country
United Kingdom
Can you add full RGB (0-255) support to the HDMI out?
Lack of support for that is a hardware issue (and only matters if your display doesn't properly support HDMI limited mode). This kind of thing can't ever fix it.
 

n00bsaib0t

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2015
Messages
287
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Phoenix, AZ
XP
1,150
Country
United States
What about a Wii U xplorer... Or some actually useful Homebrew.

Thanks I guess..
This is actually useful for games like DK64 with 16:9 support that only works in 480p mode, as you don't have to go back to system settings when you want to play something else. Maybe you could start making homebrew for free rather than crying that people working for free aren't catering specifically to what you want, then we can all be douches to you.
 

huma_dawii

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
3,880
Trophies
2
Age
33
Location
Planet Earth
XP
4,268
Country
United States
This is actually useful for games like DK64 with 16:9 support that only works in 480p mode, as you don't have to go back to system settings when you want to play something else. Maybe you could start making homebrew for free rather than crying that people working for free aren't catering specifically to what you want, then we can all be douches to you.
Next...
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: Its fine.