wiikey1 trouble after 4.2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by creepah, Oct 3, 2009.

Oct 3, 2009

wiikey1 trouble after 4.2 by creepah at 10:29 AM (1,656 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. creepah
    OP

    Newcomer creepah Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    I feel kind of unique, everyone seems to use softmod these days.. Im still rocking with my wiikey1 1.9s [​IMG]

    anywho.. the dumbass that I am I installed the 4.2 update and the chip works great.. EXCEPT for "Region override" thing!

    I have a PAL wii, and now all of my NTSC games stoped working :/

    of course I tryed with the config disc to shut it on/off and such, but no luck [​IMG]

    is there any other with the same problem?
    is there a forum or irc channel where the wiikey guys hang out?
    or is the old wiikey1 doomed maybe?

    thanks for any answers [​IMG]
     
  2. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Seems like you're not alone.
    All over the internet we can find foruns where people relate the same thing...about 4.2/wiikey problems on booting different regions ISO.

    I've sent a mail to the wiikey support and im waiting their reply...in the meanwhile...my wiikey 2 rules over all ....in 4.1 [​IMG]

    As a workarround, you can try to use GeckoOS to try to boot NTSC Backups. People have been doing this with success.

    Google-it.
     
  3. Raikiri

    Member Raikiri GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    hmmm i've read a lof of different thing for wiikey users, i myself have a wiikey v1 as well *high fives creepah for being 'oldschool' [​IMG]*

    but after reading this guess i'll just stay on 4.1 =)
    weird how a software update can mess with a piece of hardware like that though
    oh welll....
     
  4. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    from what ive read, its to do with its stealth mode. when you are playing same region backups, its completely stealthed. ie, the system menu/ios cant tell its there. however, when you have the region override setting enabled, its only in semi stealth mode, meaning that it can (and has been) detected.

    simple fix is leave it in normal mode, and when you play an out of region backup, use gecko os.

    [edit]

    also a wiikey v1 user, not that i use the wii's dvd drive for anything except gamecube games these days.
     
  5. fryguy

    Member fryguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    Sweden
    Does the same thing happen with a Wiikey 2 ?
     
  6. ravihpa

    Member ravihpa GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Country:
    India
    Dude, I completely agree with the fact that you're having fun with your Wiikey1, etc. Even I have a Wiikey1 in an NTSC US Wii [​IMG] but the softmods are great [​IMG] I haven't used those gamma, etc., ones, but what I am currently using is USB Loader GX. I picked up a 320 GB Seagate FreeAgent Go, and I don't have to burn games to DVDs anymore [​IMG] Hell, you know, I would even recommend you to get a 80 gb or 160 gb one, coz I've hardly even used up 100 gb of mine [​IMG]

    Another best thing is, when you install games to your HDD via WBFS Manager, it scrubs the game and then installs it to your HDD [​IMG] thereby saving a whole lotta space [​IMG]
     
  7. creepah
    OP

    Newcomer creepah Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    thank you for all your answers [​IMG] AND for the oldschool high-five [​IMG]

    well, I guess I should try and get some softmod going, I see there are some quite good guides @ this place!

    great forum btw!

    @ Pakatus.. if u dont mind, I'd be glad if you'd post the WiiKey crew answer here, lets see what they say.. *hoping for a firmware update* [​IMG]
     
  8. TheShadowRunner

    Member TheShadowRunner I'm like you, I have no name.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    United States
    Same here, after updating to 4.2 (the homebrew way: new hackmii installer+waninkoko 4.2
    updater), the Wasabi Zero modchip is unable to launch Wii import backups
    anymore.

    Wii backups: OK
    Wii import backups: Not recognized as valid disc in Disc Channel
    GC backups: OK
    GC import backups: OK.
     
  9. lettuce

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So how do us wiikey owners get back to 4.1E??
     
  10. Blackbeard

    Newcomer Blackbeard Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Actually - don't bother. I'm on a wiikey 1.9s and recently got into these new fangled USB loaders - they are the dogs!
    So don't worry - go USB loader and then NEW games can be loaded directly onto the USB drive.
    I haven't tried but I suspect you will also be able to load your non functioning NTSC games onto USB loader as it dosn't use the disc channel to read them.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    What Nintendo have done, in the midst of all this software blocking,
    > changed
    > the way the way the wii checks for the region of the game.
    > There are a couple of locations on the disc that contain region
    > information.
    > The Wii was only checking 1 before, and it was easily "patched" by
    > modchips
    > to allow the game to run. Now it seems, on firmware 4.2, they are looking
    > at
    > the other places on the disc for region information. Unfortunately,
    > because
    > the other locations are "signed" it might be impossible for ANY wii
    > modchips
    > to play other region games anymore.
     
  12. TheShadowRunner

    Member TheShadowRunner I'm like you, I have no name.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    United States
    I wrote to Wasabi support about the issue but i've yet to hear from them.
    Did anyone hear from the other chip makers, Wiikey, etc.. any official statement from them?

    I hope they can fix it via modchip firmware update.
    What's strange is GC import backup DVDs still work fine for me, only Wii imports DVDs have the issue.
     
  13. TheShadowRunner

    Member TheShadowRunner I'm like you, I have no name.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    United States
    Just got a reply from team Wasabi:

    Nothing new on their site yet, i hope to see some good news soon!
     

Share This Page