Wii u updated by itself?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by 7R^V, Jan 16, 2016.

1. 7R^V
    OP

7R^V Newbie

Newcomer
    Jan 16, 2016
    United States
    Moon
    I'm new to the wii u hacking scene but I've been paying attention an waiting patiently for hykems exploit. Leaving my wii u at 5.5.0. Last night how ever my wii u, updated itself, by itself. My question here is, A) is there anything I can do? B) is it even possible to update itself without me giving consent to it? I mean I wasn't informed of any update, didn't click any accept or agree. I heard it make a sound while I was sleeping, didn't think anything of it. Woke up an it was updated.

Thanks for any info.

2. barnhilltrckn

barnhilltrckn Member

Newcomer
    Jan 12, 2016
    United States
    Well you should be OK seeing as there wasa user land exploit released. You can't do anything special with it yet but just give it time.
    As for it updating by itself there is a setting that allows it to silently download updates. Just turn it off and set up tubehax for safety from any future updates.

7R^V likes this.
  3. Swinky

Swinky Member

Newcomer
    Jun 25, 2015
    United States
    The Wii U auto-updates itself.

You should of blocked the server urls.

Not to worry, though. The user land exploit still works on 5.5.1.

7R^V likes this.
  4. EmceeKerser

EmceeKerser GBAtemp Maniac

Jun 3, 2014
    The fuckin' Blue Mountains brah
    You should've read the stickies

5. tbb043

tbb043 Member

Jan 30, 2008
    United States
    Not at the moment

Yep, not just possible, it's just how the Wii U works. You need to disconnect it from the internet entirely (by deleting or changing your Wii U's internet settings to something invalid) or block the update servers in your router's DNS settings (if supported) or by using an alternate DNS such as tubehax DNS to stop it from auto updating.

6. azoreseuropa

azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru

Nov 6, 2002
    Portugal