Wii U Teaser HomeBrew Channel

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by djbubba2002, Nov 30, 2012.

Nov 30, 2012
  1. djbubba2002
    OP

    Member djbubba2002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Country:
    Haiti
    We finally have a YouTube channel and we thought we’d kick things off with a little teaser:


    Keep in mind that this is purely a demonstration at this stage. Depending on how things progress and what direction development takes, we may or may not release something like this in this form. Please don’t ask for release dates. We’d rather spend time investigating the new system than putting together a release that may or may not end up being the Right Way to do things in the future [​IMG] .
    Please ignore the blue blinks. The monitor kind of sucks at syncing to component video sometimes. I would’ve used HDMI, but the Wii U cannot output analog audio simultaneously with HDMI (at least not for the Wii U menu part), and I cannot capture HDMI audio.
    Source
     
    Ghork, AverageNinja and Sakitoshi like this.


  2. HaTaX

    Member HaTaX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Looks pretty sweet! It's somehow comforting to hear the HBC's title music on the Wii-U...
     
  3. rizzod

    Member rizzod Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    Australia
    What a tease... May not even release? that's just cruel.
     
  4. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,345
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Well, that was fast.:blink:
     
  5. -Hero-

    Newcomer -Hero- Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I'm guessing you'll need version 1.0.1/1.0.2?
     
  6. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    I would guess that if they get access to WiiU mode they will do something in there and have that have the ability to load Wii homebrew as well.
     
  7. Nemesis90

    Member Nemesis90 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United States
    Very impressive teaser. I do hope you expand upon it though.
     
  8. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,799
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    Didn't the Wii Mode come in the 2.0.0 update?
     
  9. fenix4o9

    Member fenix4o9 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    44095
    Country:
    United States
    hmm im taking it you guys want to find more than one vulnerability, before you release one to the public. that way you will always have a way in after big N tries to patch it.
     
  10. pwsincd

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,974
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i would assume they are still trying to keep the HBC in there once they put it there seeing as the wiiu seems to restore if you will the wiimode , probably the reason you see the use of smash bros to load it .. then again its all just guess work and assumption
     
  11. Brandts

    Newcomer Brandts Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Do you already have full acces or only acces to the Wii-emulator mode?
     
  12. d.d.d.

    Member d.d.d. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Tokyo Metropolis
    Country:
    Japan
    That is correct. Out of the box with a 1.01 or .02 "vanilla" WiiU, it doesn't have Wii mode on the launch console.
    It does make me wonder how soon and often Nintendo will be doing background updates automatically on us as homebrew gets out there... They were fairly fast on the Wii, kinda, but maybe they'll be quicker with the U. :unsure:
     
  13. crono141

    Member crono141 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet. My question is: Does it persist after resetting the console into WiiU mode?
     
    Wever likes this.
  14. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Currently the exploit they are using is too good to release. I don't know the specifics, but suffice to say, this particular IOS exploit will not be released until either Nintendo find it and fix it themselves, or else the successor to the WiiU is released without WiiMode (and in either case, the exploit is rendered useless). There are other exploits still in existence (e.g. crediar's exploit) and TT seem confident they can find and use another exploit, but the one they have now won't get released.
    As I said above, it's more that the exploit they have right now is too good to release. They can find others which will achieve the same end result for the user, but their current one has more use for them.
    As far as is publicly known, no one has achieved any level of exploitation/access in WiiU mode.
     
  15. julialy

    Member julialy Homebrewer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Good job !

    Now I'm waiting for HomeBrew !
     
  16. crono141

    Member crono141 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    I really wonder if Nintendo will actually spend any time patching WiiMode or not. They aren't making any more games for Wii, and Nintendo's has been someone notorious for not caring what the 3rd parties think or want in regards to the Wii. I just don't see them making any money or losing any money from not patching WiiMode.
     
  17. McHaggis

    Member McHaggis Fackin' Troller

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,656
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My Wii U had an icon for Wii mode before I updated. I didn't try it out before I updated, but are you sure you have your facts straight?
     
  18. julialy

    Member julialy Homebrewer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    IF you click on Wiimode and your Wii is not updated it says you ned to update to use this feature.
     
    pelago likes this.
  19. crono141

    Member crono141 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    Just like youtube and amazon apps. Its a stub app to tell you to get the real app.
     
    pelago likes this.
  20. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    That's probably due to the "feature" Nintendo implemented where Wii-mode gets disabled if any WiiU update is availible. That's going to get really sucky, really fast.
     

Share This Page