Hacking Wii u External USB Disk unlinking SYSNAND/REDNAND

tomazzzi

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Hi,

Sorry if it s a dumb question but i don't get it.

Unlinking Sysnand and rednand is suposed to give us a completly independant nand.

But an USB hard drive formated with rednand is also available in SYSNAND and vice versa.

Why that ?

What does the USB disk rely on ?

Is the rednand really unlinked from the sysnand ?

Why the format of sysnand also removes the disk association on the rednand ?

Please experts explain me :)

Thx !

Last edited by tomazzzi,

thaikhoa

Trophies
XP
Country
Australia
I'm not an expert but I'm pretty sure that after formatting to unlink the two nands, they are completely separated from its own settings. About the titles can be accessed on the two nands after installing, probably related to SEEPROM.

Reactions: tomazzzi

tomazzzi

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
I'm not an expert but I'm pretty sure that after formatting to unlink the two nands, they are completely separated from its own settings. About the titles can be accessed on the two nands after installing, probably related to SEEPROM.

Thx for your answer.

So if i understand well when you format the hd a new id is generated on the SEEPROM.

This SEEPROM is shared with EMUNAND and SYSNAND.

So i guess we now need an REDPROM :)

Reactions: thaikhoa
D

Deleted User

(Copy-pasted from another thread)
Just so that everyone knows:
  • When you create your redNAND, all the stuff that was previously on your sysNAND and USB drive will be available on the redNAND as well, because the certificates and title keys will be copied from your sysNAND to your redNAND.
  • After creating your redNAND, installing something to sysNAND will not be accessible from redNAND, and something installed to redNAND will not be accessible from sysNAND, obviously.