1. Arakon

    Arakon GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    hmm.. something got messed up apparently in that attempted downgrade.. I now get -115 instantly when attempting to downgrade to any firmware revision at all.
     
  2. Oath

    Oath GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    United States
    Holy ass..... What can't this guy do!?

    Its only a matter of time before he makes a softmod for backups on unmodded Wii's...
     
  3. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,600
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So does this mean there is a possibility of a full region free Wii through software ?
     
  4. linkinworm

    OP linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Country:
    umm yea it works on the homebrew channel, just put it in a folder rename it to boot.dol
     
  5. harrybuttox

    harrybuttox GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    linkinworm, is it possible to get out of region VC games?!
     
  6. Knocks

    Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Doesn't work
     
  7. samsam12

    samsam12 Test
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Country:
    United States
    it should be possible, however, there is the risk of a brick (although i do want super mario rpg)

    This will also allow Angel Solitare and Oekaki Logic to be played on US and EU systems.
     
  8. blackdogassault

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm... What I don't get is why the downgrader is needed. The settings pages are blocked? Like in a semi-brick? I wanted to change my menu to english with this (mine is a jap. console), but I don't have the internet connection the downgrade needs...
     
  9. samsam12

    samsam12 Test
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Country:
    United States
    you dont need to downgrade. the setting pages are blocked, however, just change your wii back to japanese then your settings will work.
     
  10. -lildeemo-

    -lildeemo- GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    actualy ure wii is not truly the different region until u use the downgrade method i found that out myself its basicly just a translation until u downgrade it not a diff region.. for true diff region downgrade after u change the region with the region changer.also i found that ure diff region games will not work until u do so
     
  11. jeffc313

    jeffc313 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    does this work on Korean wiis? that will remove the stupid crippling with no gamecube compatibility on those unlucky enough to own one.
     
  12. linkinworm

    OP linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Country:
    o sorry i thought u was on about the region patcher.
     
  13. blackdogassault

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Aaah, I see! Thanks a lot!
     
  14. linkinworm

    OP linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Country:
    it might, but i or other beta testers dont have them wiis so i dont think it was tested
     
  15. wilddenim

    wilddenim Candy!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Country:
    I'm totally noob on Wii Scene... What do I need to do to get this to work?

    I don't have any Homebrew Channel on my Wii. No modchips either.

    I've got PAL Wii and would love to play Zelda-J retail copy.

    I know really nothing on how to set up etc.. Big help, please?
     
  16. jalaneme

    jalaneme Female Gamer
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,252
    Country:
    holy cow, so i can turn my pal Wii into a usa Wii then without buying a usa Wii? and what are the risks? i might wait a bit before i try this though.
     
  17. Condukt365

    Condukt365 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    There's very little risk, at most you can't get into the settings on the changed version, but that's hardly a con if you configure accordingly before changing the region. Save games and channel management are still available.

    Changing the region through the app itself is very simple and it takes less than 5 seconds to do it.
     
  18. Rock Raiyu

    Rock Raiyu Clock Up
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,067
    Country:
    United States
    You need Twilight Princess (legit copy) from any region to start. Then you need to install HBC. (Homebrew Channel) And thats it.
     
  19. wilddenim

    wilddenim Candy!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Country:
    Meh. I've got a legit copy of Zelda, but it's Japanese and I've got Wii PAL. [​IMG]

    Never mind, thanks Raiyu anyway.
     
  20. samsam12

    samsam12 Test
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Country:
    United States
    you could rent it.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - changer, region,