Wii Memory Card?

Discussion in 'Nintendo GameCube' started by o2oxygen, Jan 15, 2011.

Jan 15, 2011

Wii Memory Card? by o2oxygen at 6:28 AM (1,454 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. o2oxygen
    OP

    Member o2oxygen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hello any one owns this kind of memorycard for Wii??? will it work for GameCube? because my memory card for GameCube only has 4MB =(
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    Wow. That's funny. I have this exact same memory card that I got from amazon. It says for Wii, but it's not like you can store Wii saves on it. It is a generic, low cost, 507-block GC memory card. I use it on my Wii, and so far it works very well. I haven't tried it with my GC, but I plugged it in real quick to see if it would go in and out--and it does without problems. You should seriously get it.
     
  3. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like a GC memory card "For Wii". A generic GC card I bet considering the only thing *I know of* that you can store wii saves on is an SD card.
     
  4. o2oxygen
    OP

    Member o2oxygen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Philippines
    so they just like inserted the word "Wii" just for the wii users buy it? but in generally its a GameCube Memory Card right?
    did you just inserted it on the Memo Card slot of GC and fits perfectly? but you did not tried turning on the GC and see if it works? thanks for the help though i might buy this one =)
     
  5. revron

    Newcomer revron Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, It will work with your Gamecube. They market them as for the Wii because they are designed to match the Wii. Don't waste your money on that one though. Instead buy one of the 128mb ones. I bought one last month for $6 shipped. It came from China but it only took 7 days. BTW, regardless of what people may tell you about these cards being cheap and frying, they are actually really good. I have several brand name after market cards from gamestop, eb, etc. and they all have black glob dot chips. All of the chinese "Wii" cards I have bought use real chips.

    Edit: I'll put up some pics of the internals of a few of my cards to show you what I mean.
     
  6. revron

    Newcomer revron Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Here are a few side to side for comparison.

    [​IMG]

    Here is a closeup of a Joytech Brand Name after market ( Note That There Is A Glob Dot Chip Where A Real One Was Supposed To Be)

    [​IMG]

    Here is a closeup of one of the "Wii" cards from Ebay


    [​IMG]

    BTW, These cards have a higher capacity than the 1019 block cards, I can't remember the total number of blocks it had empty though ( Note Pic Below).


    [​IMG]
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Er, you do know the black glob is to hide the markings on the chip to keep it from being identified to slow down the progress of clone products, right?

    In fact the lack of one often indicates a clone, since they don't have an original design to hide.
     
  8. o2oxygen
    OP

    Member o2oxygen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Philippines
    @revron

    thanks for the very useful and helpful info... does your save files get corrupted or erased for some unknown reason?
     
  9. revron

    Newcomer revron Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't had any problems with corrupted save with any of the "Wii" cards yet and I've had some for two years or more.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know how flash carts do it, I'm speaking in general. It was an issue with PS3 jailbreak dongle clones, too.
     
  11. revron

    Newcomer revron Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I suppose that covering a chip would help protect manufacturers from having there products cloned ( at least for the 5-10 minutes it takes to chip off the epoxy). Glob dot chips however, such as those in cheap electronics, are what you are seeing 99.9% of the time you see a black glob of black stuff on a board. For game system portablizers, such as myself, glob dots are a night mare because we cant remove them from the board.
     
  12. o2oxygen
    OP

    Member o2oxygen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Philippines
    i bought the 128MB like what Revron owns. and it works perfectly on my GameCube altough at first when i insert it its a little bit tight to insert compared to the original one but once its inserted the GameCube reads it.

    128MB = 2034 blocks FTW!!! =) i got 2034 blocks for 9 GameCube Games lol hahaha thanks for all the help i so much appreciated it [​IMG]
     

Share This Page