Wii laser should be fine when constantly working?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Stephanie, Feb 16, 2009.

  1. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    Throughout the game my Wii laser seems to keep going back & forth. I mean, the noise is annoying but I can live with it as long as it doesn't wear it out way sooner than it should if there were no modifications to the console. The game is burned onto a +RW but it works great. Should I worry? Thanks.

    {edit} spelling


    ~Steph
     


  2. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well your wii motor may die quicker than normal use but it will still have years of play, just dont play for super hard sessions lol, and how did you get +RW to work? as far as i know they dont work only - and + R work in wii
     
  3. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Some games just do that, because there is so much data to read.
     
  4. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    +RW works, but IDK [​IMG]

    I've tried just about every burning program available to get the job done and nothing worked out. Somehow I used a different feature on Nero than I have before and it burned! It says 0 bytes on the disc [​IMG] but apparently it's full of data!


    ~Steph
     
  5. RT-9

    Member RT-9 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    PEI
    Country:
    Canada
    i have that too, i think its because windows can't read the iso or something:S...
    i can't explore my wii backup on my pc either!

    so dont worry about that [​IMG]
     
  6. axe97

    Member axe97 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    only certain dvd drives can read wii isos, dont know why
     
  7. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    theres other ways [​IMG] without needing special DVD drive
     
  8. axe97

    Member axe97 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    if you mean dumping the iso to your pc through dvd dumper, i know
     
  9. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no not that that the long way
     
  10. axe97

    Member axe97 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    ok then can you tell me your way?
     
  11. MillionsKnives

    Member MillionsKnives GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    I burned Super Mario Galaxy and Mario Kart Wii to DVD +RW and they both work fine. I guess Mario Kart doesn't have too much loading going on during play, so I wouldn't expect to hear the laser going crazy, but with Super Mario Galaxy I hear it from time to time when it loads a new scene or something.

    I'm not going to worry about it too much. If the DVD drive fails over time, I'll chalk it up to normal wear and tear.
     
  12. shadow1w2

    Member shadow1w2 Still here.

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,518
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    Considering that backups run at 3x instead of 6x then the Wii DVD drive is actually running slower and much safer. If anything it'll prolong its life.
    However RW discs may be harder to read for the machine.
    While they may be good for testing, I'd suggest using a good ol DVD-R.
    I never use +Rs myself but aparently they work fine to if you set them up as -Rs in the burner app.

    If the drive is making noise on that RW disc and only that disc then it must be working hard to read the data.
    Try to use a backup on a dvd-r and re check commercial discs to make sure the drive isn't having problems on its own.

    My wii, long before the softmods hit, had a drive problem and made loud noises when it spun the disc.
    I eventually sent it in as it stopped playing some games and all GCN games.I got it back with a whole new drive (D2C chip one too [​IMG]). So be sure to check the drive for normal problems.
     
  13. dajavax

    Member dajavax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Monterrey
    Country:
    Mexico
    i agree... how?
     
  14. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]


    ~Steph
     
  15. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    *update*

    Apparently Call of Duty: World at War runs fine on a +RW, but a small game like Animal Crossing: City Folk doesn't? I've burned to two different discs and both give me the same results: a black screen followed by an Animal Crossing screen with the Mole guy saying it can't read the disc. I also have IOS38 so I'm not sure what the problem is. So I've came up with that it does read the disc, but maybe not fast enough? I downloaded a scrubbed version of the game so I'm assuming it has any necessary updates installed within the ISO. I've searched and all I know is IOS38 is needed which I have; though all of the posters only mentioned the black screen and not the Animal Crossing error screen. Tips? Thanks.

    {edit}extra words removed


    ~Steph
     
  16. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
  17. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    install ios 51 and 55? that might help, cioscorp has these in cIOS format install with wadmanager
     
  18. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    I've installed cIOScorp [​IMG]


    ~Steph
     
  19. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    bad move Steph...
     
  20. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    What's a bad move, kimakimakimakimakimakameleon??


    ~Steph
     

Share This Page