Wii JP Menu to ENG

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ChimneyBug, Sep 25, 2008.

Sep 25, 2008

Wii JP Menu to ENG by ChimneyBug at 5:30 PM (1,330 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. ChimneyBug
    OP

    Newcomer ChimneyBug Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    I was just wondering if anyone could explain whether the menu edits Crediar (I think that's who it was that made the video, I apologise if I'm wrong) made imply it would be possible to change the Japanese Wii menu, which is limited to Japanese language only unlike other regions, to an English menu?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ChimneyBug
    OP

    Newcomer ChimneyBug Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    Not asking someone to do it, just want to know if anyone can confirm that should be possible with this hack method [​IMG]
     
  3. marioxb

    Newcomer marioxb Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    It is possible to change a Japanese Wii to an American Wii using any region changer.
     
  4. gundalf

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    But he want to keep the JP Region. So that doesnt wouldnt help.
     
  5. marioxb

    Newcomer marioxb Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, yes it would. You can change all kinds of things individually. Just leave the game region as Japan, and there you have it.
     
  6. ciper

    Member ciper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Wrong. You can choose which options to modify. You could create a system that is US in every way except that it booted Japanese originals if you wanted to.
     
  7. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    But you really shouldn't use the updates that are on those japanese games if your Wii has an american menu...
     
  8. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible to hack the menu so discs will be region free?
     
  9. Framework43

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, its something called starfall [​IMG]
    It patches things so you can add features that you want.
    Most people have trouble with it because it says to press "B+2" but your really supposed to press "B+1" to make it work [​IMG]
     
  10. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Or you could just make GeckoOS into a channel. Should be as fast as the Disc-channel and automatically blocks updates of import games.
     
  11. ciper

    Member ciper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States

    Starfall disables update checking AND lets you boot foreign games directly from the Disc channel with no need to create a custom channel from GeckOS.
     
  12. ChimneyBug
    OP

    Newcomer ChimneyBug Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    does that also mean while having the US menu the channels (news, weather, shopping, voting channel, tv channel) could all still be the japanese versions?
     

Share This Page