Wii DVD Dumper v1.2 Question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by XxOblivion77, Nov 2, 2008.

Nov 2, 2008
  1. XxOblivion77
    OP

    Member XxOblivion77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Country:
    Canada
    What do I do for the split size? My USB is 8GB, so I'm pretty sure I can dump the whole thing in one shot. What should I set that setting to? I'm dumping Mario Kart Wii BTW.
     


  2. Khaosknight

    Newcomer Khaosknight Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Im lost......
    Country:
    United States
    I would set it for anything around 4500 mb. On a side note i guess i used an outdated version cause i could never get the USB to mount.
     
  3. XxOblivion77
    OP

    Member XxOblivion77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Country:
    Canada
    Mine won't mount either. :l
     
  4. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    i always get a code dump when i try my 2 gb sd card or my 2gb usb tick or my 8 gb usb stick but wifi works fine.....
     
  5. XxOblivion77
    OP

    Member XxOblivion77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Country:
    Canada
    It either gives me this long error message or says that there's an error when mounting the thing.
     
  6. GhostSonic

    Member GhostSonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Keep in mind that FAT/FAT32 devices can only hold up to 4GB files at a time and nothing more. something around the 3800 MB range would be good.
     
  7. XxOblivion77
    OP

    Member XxOblivion77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah well that explains it. Can I reformat it anyway?
     
  8. GhostSonic

    Member GhostSonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think it'll even work with NTFS, and most drives aren't even NTFS compatible IIRC. I too always get that mounting error when I try to use a Flash drive.
     
  9. XxOblivion77
    OP

    Member XxOblivion77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I shall try. If it doesn't work though, I'm giving up and just doing it with my SD Card.
     
  10. higuys

    Newcomer higuys Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Australia
    hey quick question about the dumper, how long does it usually take via wifi and are you able to stop/cancel the process half way through? and does it give you like a % of how far dumped?

    btw, do i need any cIOS to run?
     
  11. XxOblivion77
    OP

    Member XxOblivion77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep, says unable to format. Oh well.

    EDIT: I formatted it actually. I'll try it in the Wii now.
     
  12. Defiance

    Member Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Location:
    Terminus
    Country:
    United States
    Just a question, but wouldn't it be a lot easier and safer to just dump a Wii game via DVD burner or something? Or is there something about this app that I don't know about?
     
  13. GhostSonic

    Member GhostSonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Usually around 3-4 hours for single layered games and 7-8 hours for dual layer. Yes, you need one of waninkoko's or wiigators CIOS' to use it, either one seems to work.
     
  14. higuys

    Newcomer higuys Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Australia
    ok thanks for the help ghost, and if i don't have a cIOS i'll just get an error, nothing bad right? and is rev06 of waninkoko's cIOS36 a good choice, or would you recommend otherwise?
     
  15. GhostSonic

    Member GhostSonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Rev06 should work just fine. It SHOULD give an error if it doesn't find a custom IOS.

    Edit: if no CIOS is found, it'll just go back to the HBC Menu.
     
  16. higuys

    Newcomer higuys Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Australia
    k thx you've been a good help. i can install the cIOS through the hbc, and i've got a european wii so no problems there, right? and you wouldn't have a dl link without having to go through waninkoko's page would you?

    last thing lol, am i able to see the % and am i able to stop/cancel the process without doing any harm.
     
  17. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    And how (if I make 2 or 3 parts) get together the parts once their on my PC???
     
  18. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you can cancel the download with no harm done to anything. You just cancel it like you do any other download. And my advice for finding the cIOS; Google is your friend [​IMG]
     
  19. GhostSonic

    Member GhostSonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Well, if it download links your looking for, I would just use this. It's the one used for wiigators back up loader but I was able to dump games with it. Waninkokos requires you to have an IOS wad which is near impossible to find on google and can only be found on a Wii disc. Wiigators downloads it from the internet. And the % of what?
     
  20. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    That's a modified version of patchmii. If all he wants to do is dump games, then he should probably just use the original (though I doubt it would matter too much). Here's the link for the official one: Patchmii. Download it from here, put it on your SD card, and run it (make sure you have an internet connection). Once that's done, you should be able to dump games easily.
     

Share This Page