Hardware Wii Chipset identification

MichaelB

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
122
Trophies
0
XP
329
Country
Sweden
I don't know how to identify what chipset I have on my wii for modchips, I only know how to indentify what revision I have. For example they say that a modchip works with D3-2 and the other one says that it works with D2E. I do not know how this works and any help is appreciated.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,970
Trophies
3
Location
Austria
XP
2,551
Country
Austria
I don't know how to identify what chipset I have on my wii for modchips, I only know how to indentify what revision I have. For example they say that a modchip works with D3-2 and the other one says that it works with D2E. I do not know how this works and any help is appreciated.

Hello.:)

For the 100 Percent save Identification method you have to disassemble your Wii and have an optical Check on the Mainboard/Drive Chip and so on.

I think you have used the Wii Drive Chip Base:
https://www.wiidrives.com/list

Here is a Guide to Identify the Revision of the Wii:
https://bitbuilt.net/forums/index.php?threads/revision-identification-guide.863/#post-9044

They try to build an actual one:
https://bitbuilt.net/forums/index.p...vision-based-off-of-serial-numbers.716/page-7

May I ask please,which Drive/Mod Chip you want to use ?

Thank you.:)
 

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,970
Trophies
3
Location
Austria
XP
2,551
Country
Austria
  • Like
Reactions: MichaelB

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,970
Trophies
3
Location
Austria
XP
2,551
Country
Austria
Nice thanks!:yay:
May I ask please,why no Softmod ?

With BootMi and Priiloader you have 99 Percent Brick Protection.
And with USBLoaderGX,Configurable USBLoader and WiiFlow you have 3 excellent Loaders for ALL Formats and USB Devices.
Only for your Consideration,if you like.:D

Thank you.:)
 

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,970
Trophies
3
Location
Austria
XP
2,551
Country
Austria
Yeah I know but freeloader doesn't work on 4.3.
:D

No,I mean a Softmod where you can play your Games from an USB HDD for example.
You do an Exploit" (a little programm that brings Software on the Wii).
In Detail this is called "Letterbomb".
You only need an not too big SD Card (2 GB recommended).

This little Thing installs an Homebrew Channel on your Wii with them you can use Apps,Backup Loaders,Media Player,Emulators and so on.

Here you can read about this Mod:

https://wii.guide/

It is not difficult if you read and do as suggested in this Manual.

No disassembling of your Wii needed.
No Modchip/DriveChip needed.:)

Well, got curious ? :rofl2:
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,411
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,074
Country
Norway
Well yes thanks but I don't want to pirate games sorry. I just want to be able to play region free. Thanks for the tip though!:yay:
Region free with a drivechip doesn't work on 4.3 IIRC. You need to either load the game through any of the available loaders (Gecko OS for example) or use Priiloader to patch the system menu. In your case Priiloader is probably the best option as you'd be able to load your imports seamlessly like any other game.
A modchip makes even less sense if you just want region free TBH. There are so many other ways to do that that don't require hardmodding.
Plus with softmodding, you can use Nintendont, which lets you run GC games with memory card emulation, and use other controllers (USB controllers, Wiimote+Nunchuck, Classic Controller...), and also supports loading retail discs.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,
  • Like
Reactions: MichaelB

MichaelB

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
122
Trophies
0
XP
329
Country
Sweden
Is it? I didn't know that.:O I thought owning the import games would be enough. Do I have to buy a Wii for the region I want to play games from?:unsure:

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I didn't know you could play region free trough software thanks!! Also still wondering if it's piracy to play region free.
 

MichaelB

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
122
Trophies
0
XP
329
Country
Sweden
Still just wondering because I already have a mod chip what version do you think I have?
15710707825708095772104493144526.jpg
15710708777635029887184712234067.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Me and a buddy used to play that, is pretty fun. Graphics were pretty good also at that time, I think what 5-6 years ago. --Edit yea was 2018
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Surprised they never made a second one.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It takes two was their newest different theme
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I didn't care for that one so much, but didn't play it much either.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I just played little of "Still Wakes The Deep" , just came to gamepass today, its alright, kinda creepy. I'm not usually a horror game fan, but it looks really good graphic wise, esp w 4k. I admit it made me jump a few times.
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    Anyone here using the 3DS?
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    do u have pretendo?
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    whats ur code?
  • B @ btjunior:
    i dont have pretendo sorry
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    oh ok
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    well if ur console isnt modded i suggest u to mod it
  • B @ btjunior:
    also, just curius, does the freinds app still work after the shutdown?
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    yes
  • B @ btjunior:
    nice
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    but u cant play online games anymore :(
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    i miss going in other peoples town
  • B @ btjunior:
    yeah
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    i have a friend named Pineapple (@pineappleJuice hi). we played a lot the day b4 the server shutdown
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I preten to know doe
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @LNLenost how well is the pretendo servers, you ever get kicked off games when playing online?
    +1
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    @BigOnYa not always you get kicked. it happens rarely to me.
    +1
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    ofc they're not great, but props to them for making this
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    btw, I decided to make the nintendo support team going insane
  • LNLenost @ LNLenost:
    i told them my badges disappeared after i opened the badge arcade after the shutdown, but actually they disappeared because i opened the badge arcade w/ pretendo
    LNLenost @ LNLenost: i told them my badges disappeared after i opened the badge arcade after the shutdown, but...