Wii Bricked (Black Screen) 4.3u boot2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mr2real, Aug 10, 2013.

  1. mr2real
    OP

    mr2real Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 10, 2013
    United States
    I softmodded my brothers wii although I'm a noob, so I'll try to explain what happened. I used bannerbomb to install homebrew and bootmii which successfully installed on boot2. The I used a modmanger to patch IOS 248 and 246 (I think). During this whole process I never made a nand backup. From this point I could successfully load backups from an external hard drive although a few game wouldn't function correctly. I gave the system back to my brother and he played it for nearly a month. One morning he tried to turn it on and the blue light would blink twice quickly and the screen stays black, no sound or anything.

    Here is what I've done to the point attempting to fix it. I followed this guide, . I completed 2 of the 3 steps on the guide. It wouldn't let me change the system menu to 4.1 because I have no network access. I reset the wii, and still had a black screen. The I held the reset button while powering on and piiloader loaded up, although I'm not sure what to do from there. Also, I'm having to use a gamecube controller because the wiimote won't sync.

    So, I only have a black screen. I have no nand backup for the particular wii (I do have a nand back up for my 3.4), I can get multi-mod-manger and piiloader to boot up, bootmii is on boot2, have to use gamecube remote, most likely can't get the wii to connect to my network without getting in the system menu (which wouldn't load from priiloader). I believe this wouldn't have happened if I had disconnected the wii from the internet, it was connected for the entire month after the initial mod.

    Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks, Joe
     
  2. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member
    1,585
    90
    Jan 21, 2010
    United States
    Load multi mod manager and view the wii info. Verify that the system menu and region are properly detected. Running syscheck my help, from priiloader or MMM app loader. Only thing I can thing of is either your setting.txt is corrupt and the wii is missing its region settings, or you have a hardware issue with your bluetooth module. Most likely a hardware issue with the bluetooth module. You can try loading some wii channels from the priiloader channel loader, or some games from HBC and see if you can get the wiimote to sync.
     
  3. rooskie54

    rooskie54 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    282
    26
    Jan 4, 2009
    United States
    I have nothing more to add to what mauifrog said, but this caught my eye:

    That had nothing to do with it. Go online with a softmodded wii all you want.
     
  4. mr2real
    OP

    mr2real Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 10, 2013
    United States
    Okay, from priiloader under the "load title" menu homebrew channel will load but I'm unable to sync remote and the gamecube remote won't work. Also from the "load title" Wiiflow will start to load then I get the message "d2x dOS rev6 or later is required". Nothing else will load from this priiloader using the sd card I pulled from my wii.

    In multi mod manager v13.2 the Wii System Information says - System Menu v(null) on IOS80, Console Region - USA.

    The gamecube remote works fine for priiloader and MMM.
     
  5. mr2real
    OP

    mr2real Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 10, 2013
    United States
    I just ran syscheck from MMM. Here are the results, it's been stuck like this for 15 minutes.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member
    1,585
    90
    Jan 21, 2010
    United States
    You can turn it off. It looks like your region info is fine. You have a few options.
    1- you can reinstall system ios, system menu and priiloader.
    -have ios80 wad, system menu 4.3u wad, and priiloader installer on sd card.
    -load priiloader
    -load the HBC
    -load MMM
    -Install system menu ios80 wad
    -Install system menu 4.3u wad
    -exit MMM back to HBC
    -install priiloader from HBC
    --before you install test load MMM from HBC and exit to HBC. Make sure you are able to exit back to the HBC so you can do the priiloader install. Reisntalling the system menu will remove priiloader, so you need to get it installed before restarting the wii or you may be stuck with just a black screen and no priiloader.
    - you can use modmii and its guide to do the above and get needed files.

    2- test wiimotes
    -load priiloader and test loading all wii channels, see if you can sync your wiimote
    -load HBC, test usbloader with wii games
    -load HBC, test wii disc games with gecko os
    -load HBC, test wii disc with neogamma
    --If you had a bad bt module, all of the above would load to a black screen.
     
  7. mr2real
    OP

    mr2real Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 10, 2013
    United States
    Would it be okay to just download & install iso80 wad and system menu 4.3u wad from MMM on startup, and then re-install priiloader from MMM without exiting (if that's possible)? I can't do anything from Homebrew without a wiimote. None of the channels work except wiiflow which starts to load then says "d2x dOS rev6 or later is required". Will re-installing system menu 4.3u wad delete bootmii boot2?
     
  8. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member
    1,585
    90
    Jan 21, 2010
    United States
    Reinstalling the 4.3 wad will not remove boot2 bootmii. Last I checked, priiloader crashed from MMM. If MMM and priiloader are installed in their respective folders, sd:\apps\mmm\boot.dol and sd:\apps\priiloader\boot.dol, you should be able to load them from the hbc with gc controller.
     
  9. mr2real
    OP

    mr2real Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 10, 2013
    United States
    Here's what I did.

    Started Priiloader - opened homebrew - started MMM (I did get the gc controller working).

    I reinstalled cIOS80-v6174 (file size 1,914 KB) This wad was included in the package I downloaded from the instructions from the youtube video above.

    I downloaded and installed this wad file - http://www.mediafire.com/download/bcn7wl5576sfzok/Black Wii System Menu 4.3U.wad . (My system isn't black, but this is the only download I could find.)

    Then I loaded and installed this priiloader - http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Preloader/Priiloader .

    I removed the sd and gc controller restarted and everything is still black.

    New Findings -
    The priiloader I downloaded said v 0.7 however it still says v 0.4 which was the same as before (at least it is still working, lol)
    Wiiflow is still giving the same message.
    My snes and nes emulators ARE loading and working from HBC.
    The syscheck and MMM system info are still the same.
     
  10. mr2real
    OP

    mr2real Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 10, 2013
    United States
    Something else I just noticed.

    On the MMM main screen at the bottom it says "Load another IOS - (current: IOS236 v54321)". I changed that to IOS249 v17 and Neogamma just loaded.

    When I load the app d2x Custom IOS Installer it shows that IOS 202 222 223 236 249 250 254 are active.
     
  11. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member
    1,585
    90
    Jan 21, 2010
    United States
    When you load neogamma, can you load a wii game? How about wii channels from priiloader?
     
  12. Aractus

    Aractus GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    125
    8
    Aug 4, 2013
    Canberra
    You do not download Wii system wads from filesharing sites.

    1. Download NUS Downloader.
    2. Click Database > Update Database.
    3. Click Database > System > System Menu > 4.3U.
    4. Check "Pack Wad"
    5. Uncheck "Keep Encrypted Contents"
    6. Click START NUS DOWNLOAD!

    Do the same for IOS80...
    Database > IOS > IOS80 > v6944

    Put those two WADS into SDROOT\\WAD.

    Next, complete the steps that mauifrog detailed:

    1. Turn on console, hold reset.
    2. Load HBC
    3. Load MMM
    4. Install IOS80.
    5. Install system menu 4.3U.
    6. Exit back to HBC
    7. Install Priiloader

    Also, get the latest syscheck here (v2.1.0b19). If you're still getting a black screen, run syscheck v2.1.0b19, it might give better output.
     
  13. mr2real
    OP

    mr2real Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 10, 2013
    United States
    Okay, I've completed everything mentioned above, and the wad came from NUS Downloader.

    Updated status-

    Still have a black screen.

    I ran the new syscheck and it froze on IOS202.

    None of the channels load, only emulators for NES and SNES (the roms and emulators are saved on the SD and they do function). The USB loader start (except Wiiflow) but they will not mount the USB.

    In MMM on "IOS Manager" it has my IOS202 listed as "Kwiirk's cIOS with USB 2.0 support for homebrew like MPlayer CE."
     
  14. mr2real
    OP

    mr2real Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 10, 2013
    United States
    I don't know if this matters, but I was looking at the IOS information in IOS manager and notice on IOS202 on the left side of the screen it says Currently Selected IOS202 Version installed v65535 and the right side it says Currently loaded IOS236 v54321. Should these be like that? Also, If I need to install a new IOS202 could someone please post a link, I didn't see it on NUS downloader. Thanks for all the help everyone, Joe
     
  15. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member
    1,585
    90
    Jan 21, 2010
    United States
    I think you need to try a replace your bt module.
     
  16. Aractus

    Aractus GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    125
    8
    Aug 4, 2013
    Canberra
    NUS Downloaded only downloads official Nintendo software, not cIOS's like IOS202. However, your system menu only needs IOS80. As you've now installed a good copy of IOS80, and a good copy of the system menu, you should rule out the problem being IOS/system-menu related.

    As suggested by mauifrog, the problem might be your bt module.
     
  17. mr2real
    OP

    mr2real Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 10, 2013
    United States
    Is there a definitive test I can do to verify it is the blue tooth module, other than trying to sync remotes?
     
  18. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Member
    1,585
    90
    Jan 21, 2010
    United States
    To test the bt module you try to load N apps that load the bt module, such as the system menu, nintendo channels, wiiware/vc, wii games- all of these typically load to a black screen when the bt module fails. Boot2 bootmii, priiloader, recovery menu, homebrew channel, and apps still work with a failed bt module (not sure about gc games). So your wii fits the bad bt module brick well.
     
  19. almmiron

    almmiron GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    123
    11
    Jan 9, 2012
    Brazil
    I know this topic is old, but my wii suffered from the exact same problem, and i tried every step written here, still black screen. The fact is

    I buyed a new bt module and changed for the old one, but still black screen...