Why is Softmii the best for backups?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Tranquil, Feb 1, 2009.

Feb 1, 2009
  1. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    As opposed to say the Gamma Loader?
     


  2. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Better Compatibility and because it's integrated into the regular disc channel instead of a HBC app or its own Channel.
     
  3. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    It's not that much better. It's just more of a faster way to boot games and it's suppose to have some cosmetic differences.

    Launchers have the advantage of being more safe and able to work on any System Menu version.
     
  4. HisshouBuraiKen

    Member HisshouBuraiKen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Country:
    United States
    It's not. You can't beat a drivechip.
     
  5. Shinigami Kiba

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    I wouldn't touch that softmii thing with a 50 foot pole, at least not for another couple months.
    Not saying it's not cool, I just think it's too risky to mess with just yet
     
  6. adrian783

    Newcomer adrian783 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    softmii is less risky than the modchip if you can read and follow instructions.

    also softmii has near 100% compatibility since it uses the IOS version the game is designated to run, only patched to allow backups. gamma, on the other hand, runs with 1 ISO version for all the games, that's why there are a dozen or so games that wont run, like HotD2.
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I say, the lastest version of my toy is the best "softmod" for import games and import backups.


    The IOS is not the problem for the games. SoftMii would have nearly the same compatibility with the cIOS36rev7 installed as every IOS. The problems in Gamma+SoftChip come 1. from the method the games are loaded, the disc channel loads a little bit different, that's why the 002 error occurs, and Sam&Max and FarCry need some special method to run. And 2. some game load their IOS themselves. Red Steel for example, loads IOS9 after being started, that's why you need either to replace IOS9 with a cIOS or to IOS Version patch the game to IOS249.
     
  8. Hehe Moo

    Member Hehe Moo Moo?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    >_< I use the Gamma launcher, haven't tested SoftMii yet...

    Hopefully nothing bad happens when I DO test it..
     
  9. Raziel5000

    Member Raziel5000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    i installed softmii last night and had absoutely no problems, i think it will be easier for my kids to play the backups also. i wonder if softmii will play the rockband backups or will i need to continue using Softchip. i will have to test.

    TESTED: Softmii runs my rockband backups with instruments!!
     
  10. Wii_Manic

    Member Wii_Manic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hiya im new to the forum..

    Just installed softmii, easy if you follow the instructions.
    I tried Call Of Duty 5 Backup and it shows it in the disc channel but when i click start it tells me there is an error, to eject the disc and restart the wii..any help plz? It works in Gamma but not in Softmii.

    Thanks
    Wii_Manic
     
  11. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    Maniac... the disc channel is more sensitive to burn errors/scratches than the loaders.
     
  12. AsosaYoung

    Member AsosaYoung GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    L B C
    Country:
    United States
    I"m glad that many people miss the whole point of SoftMii. Then this will stay with the selected few who are really into more then just playing Wii games on the Wii. Control is what I like. Also the ability to launch what ever I want when I boot up my system is a plus. Then there is CrazyIntro as the name states I can play a short crazy intro and then I have the option to boot the systemmenu or the HBC. So continue to just play your Wii games and make hundreds of new treads like "I get a black screen when I insert the game disc", "My little bro/sis updated my Wii", "I installed a wad I found on the ground and it BRICK my Wii".
    I'll just get my popcorn and enjoy the movie.
     
  13. mxk1000

    Member mxk1000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    for me, gamma is better, there are less games that work on the softMii so in the bin it goes for me
     
  14. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Um. I see you've been around here for under a month, so i'll leave a little bit of slack, but please don't be arrogant towards the ignorance of others. Yes, there are a lot of people that don't understand (or think they DO understand, but were misinformed)... try and be helpful rather than lumping everyone into a lesser group that yourself.

    Wil Wheaton says it best... "Don't be a dick."

    EDIT: Oh, and for Topic's sake-
    I use Gamma. I have never touched SoftMii, and have only read a very little bit. In fact, Asosa opened my eyes to a few more of SoftMii's abilities heh. I think i'll stick with Gamma until i have a much larger grasp on other softmods. I mean, for the time being, Gamma is wonderful for me, and if it's not broken, i'm not going to fix it [​IMG]
     
  15. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I still use Gamma. SoftMii might become a great alternative, but it's just too risky for me at the moment - certainly because Gamma works fine for me.

    When BootMii comes out I'll probably try it, because BootMii makes modifying Wii software that much more safe.
     
  16. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    I currently use Gamma 0.3 but i WILL USE FLATMII when it drops! OMFG thats gonna pwn!

    google this:

    FLATMII
     
  17. gameshark

    Member gameshark GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    Netherlands
    gamma is it for me.

    for softmii you have to have a 1 on 1 backup or your screen goes black and its not the most region free i would like to have.also it interferes with the rebooter from gamma.

    i'll stick with gamma for the time being.
     
  18. AsosaYoung

    Member AsosaYoung GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    L B C
    Country:
    United States
    I apologize if it seems that I'm being arrogant towards the ignorance of other because I'm not. It's just that people may ask what's the difference between a and b. And the only real way you can you can give them the best answer is to have created it, have had in depth discussion with other about it,really tested it , or you are currently using it.
    Yes I have been here just a month and I am thankful to GBAtemp and all the knowledgeable members.
    I admit when it comes to the Wii I'm still on the low level but I do read and read and I'm learning. I help those that help themselves because someone past that gift on to me. But I don't give advice about things I don't know anything about.

    SoftMii has the same compatibility as the backuploader.
    All my game that work in gamma work in SoftMii.
    52NTSCU/ 30/PAL 3/NTSCJ
     
  19. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    Softmii actually has BETTER compatability that the loaders, mainly because the games can call their ios and not be forced into a set ios. There are several other reason i say compatability is higher. For one if the game supports your video mode it defaults to it, no need to force anything. Games that don't support your region natively have to be patched to whether you use gamma or softmii, just a fact of life. Its not possible to use a video mode that doesn't exist. Personally i am seeing 100% compatibility. For those who don't want to use it because they decrypted all their games, get with the program decrypting has been strongly discouraged by both wii and wan since .3alpha. As for it not being region free... WTF where have you been? It is FULL region free. I can play NTSC PAL and JAP games from boot without a single problem... if you tried it and didnt get full region free then you skipped a very important step... No matter what version you are on even if it is 3.2 you MUST run the included arc. as it has the only true working region free hacks built into it. Softmii itself does not interfere with the rebooter, that would be preloader. Also why would you need the rebooter in the first place if you used softmii... gammas rebooter is the long way of booting from disc channel, forces the system menu and games to use ios249, and is known to have issues with several games that work flawlessly under softmii.
    Honestly i have yet to find a game that doesn't work with softmii.
     
  20. Wii_Manic

    Member Wii_Manic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If anyone else is having this problem in Softmii, tring re-installing ciosscorp
     

Share This Page