Why is Dolphin running so slow on my computer?

Discussion in 'Computer Programming, Emulation, and Game Modding' started by Iluzija, May 25, 2015.

  1. Iluzija
    OP

    Iluzija Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    May 25, 2015
    Slovenia
    Hi!

    Just curious to know how I cannot get a stable 30 FPS on Super Mario Sunshine....

    My Rig
    Amd-FX8350 4.0GHz
    GTX 760 GIGABYTE
    and 8 GB of ram

    With this rig I cannot simply get SMS to run smoothly even on the lowest graphics.... Any suggestions :(?
     


  2. vayanui8

    vayanui8 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,086
    936
    Nov 11, 2013
    United States
    maybe your configs are just bad. Theres certain settings that have a massive effect on performance. Dolphin is also optimized for intel processors, so make sure you look for a version that is optimized for amd because that will have a large effect on your performance.
     
  3. RevPokemon

    RevPokemon GBATemp's 3rd Favorite Transgirl

    Member
    4,830
    2,420
    Aug 24, 2014
    United States
    Fort Gay, West Virginia
    Yep even the best amds struggle against lowly intels
     
  4. Iluzija
    OP

    Iluzija Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    May 25, 2015
    Slovenia
    Thanks guys I'll see what I can find =)
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  5. emmanu888

    emmanu888 6 years and still going strong

    Member
    1,266
    405
    Jan 25, 2009
    Canada
    Victoriaville,Qu├ębec
    He shouldn't have problems with that rig, both of my rigs sports a Phenom II x6 1055t and Dolphin as well as PCSX2 runs really well. You might want to check the graphics settings and see if they're too high for your GPU
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  6. aofelix

    aofelix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    716
    175
    Dec 21, 2013
    get a new intel

    my 4670k OC @ 4.2ghz was able to full FPS the last story!
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  7. guitarheroknight

    guitarheroknight 1.6180339887

    Member
    2,447
    2,151
    Nov 9, 2014
    Croatia
    Grand Line
    Download the latest nightly build and don't crank the settings to the max. Sadly Dolphin is optimized for Intel and Nvidia. For instance I own a i5 4690k and a 750 ti and I can run almost all games maxed out at 1080p.
     
  8. Iluzija
    OP

    Iluzija Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    May 25, 2015
    Slovenia
    Kinda sad that it itsn't optimized for AMD :/
     
  9. aofelix

    aofelix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    716
    175
    Dec 21, 2013
    i think its more a case of AMD processors sucking compared to intel than optimization.


    Intel have been killing AMD for a few years now when you get to mid-range + CPUS.
     
    garrlker likes this.
  10. guitarheroknight

    guitarheroknight 1.6180339887

    Member
    2,447
    2,151
    Nov 9, 2014
    Croatia
    Grand Line
    DX12 will bring a huge jump in performance if they decide to implement it so there's always hope.
     
  11. Iluzija
    OP

    Iluzija Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    May 25, 2015
    Slovenia
    Lets hope for the best cuz kinda sad news since I just bought the AMD processor T_T
     
  12. Memoir

    Memoir A Hero to Zero

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    Memoir is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    4,531
    4,067
    Jun 24, 2007
    United States
    Wyoming
    The nightly builds will circumvent a few of your problems. Unfortunately, AMD has poor single threaded performance in comparison to even the newest pentium. Dolphin really only utilizes 2 cores at any given time. If they were to have optimized it for amd, the emulation wouldn't be as accurate.
     
  13. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,450
    4,766
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
  14. Rockhoundhigh

    Rockhoundhigh Man with a mission

    Member
    436
    209
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    Southern California
    Yeah, AMD GPUs are fine for Dolphin but AMD CPUs are incredibly lacking. It probably also doesn't help that you decided to play one of the most demanding games in Dolphin by virtue of its Zelda ucode related issues.
     
  15. RepeatingDigits

    RepeatingDigits GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    157
    110
    Apr 9, 2015
    Cote d'Ivoire
    One thing everyone forgets is that your HDD could be slow and bottlenecking your GPU.
    When I migrated GTAV from a Caviar Green 1TB to a Samsung 850 PRO SSD, the game suddenly ran very, -very- fine and without annoying hiccups.
    Check your HDD's RPM speed and look around for info.
     
  16. Iluzija
    OP

    Iluzija Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    May 25, 2015
    Slovenia
  17. Iluzija
    OP

    Iluzija Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    May 25, 2015
    Slovenia
    I realized something weird that I have lower FPS now than what I've had before with an AMD x4 phenom which is considered a worse CPU O.o
     
  18. Armadillo

    Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,566
    1,506
    Aug 28, 2003
    United Kingdom
    It's just the fx series shitty IPC. Anything that is cpu heavy and not heavily multi-threaded to use all cores, will run like crap.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  19. aofelix

    aofelix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    716
    175
    Dec 21, 2013
    if emulation is your thing, i'd be tempted to return processor.


    investing in an intel is such a good purchase ATM because full speed emulation for the PS2/Wii library is nearly 99% complete and possible in new dolphin and PCSX2 builds if you have a haswell unlocked processor. that means you have access to a HUGE library of games.
     
  20. TotalInsanity4

    TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord

    Member
    6,938
    6,923
    Dec 1, 2014
    United States
    Under a rock
    I was going to make a snarky "because you're running an AMD" post but it seems like I'm late to the party :unsure:
     
    Margen67 likes this.