Why doesn't this cheat file work?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Game_Master001, Apr 15, 2011.

Apr 15, 2011
  1. Game_Master001
    OP

    Newcomer Game_Master001 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Question is about M3 DS Real with standard firmware. I just downloaded the latest.

    This is my cheatfile for rom number 5592: Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship 2011:

    :BYYJ

    Code:
    521424F0 E3A04012
    021424F0 E1A04004
    02142518 E1A04004
    D2000000 00000000
    
    [End]
    
    
    Basically, I copied the layout of a cheatfile of another game as I knew that one worked perfectly, only with the GameCode of this game, which is BYYJ according to the cheats page, and the code I want for this game. The code has been confirmed (by me) to work (tested it on an emulator. But it's not just this code: no code works for this game), I configured the game to use the cheatfile, the cheat switch is set to "always on"... What am I doing wrong or what is the problem? And how to fix it?
     
  2. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,289
    Country:
  3. Game_Master001
    OP

    Newcomer Game_Master001 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I just run the regular firmware: http://www.handheldsources.net/M3DS/Download_M3DSR.html the download from "System for M3i Zero & M3DS Real(26-1-2011)".

    Also, codes work on other games work as intended (for example, on Pokemon HeartGold, I run a code that changes my character to have a Team Rocket costume). So, as broad as "the cheat function is broken" is not the case.
     
  4. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,289
    Country:
    then make sure you know what cheats you are using

    No Winning And Losing Music
    521424F0 E3A04012
    021424F0 E1A04004
    02142518 E1A04004
    D2000000 00000000

    You can't make that code work unless you're using the AP Fix code, since without AP Fix, the game will freeze during your turn

    this code works, try it and see if it works on yours

    [push Select Opponent 0 LP Single CPU Duel]
    94000130 FFFB0000
    6219B184 00000000
    B219B184 00000000
    0000003C 00000000
    D2000000 00000000

    choose Free Duel > CPU Duel, and push Select during the battle, for instant win
     
  5. Game_Master001
    OP

    Newcomer Game_Master001 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The game hasn't frozen yet. I'm running the game all the time with the code on (never bothered to turn it off). Also, when I tested it on an emulator, the code did work and still no freezes.

    And I've already tested another code, the All Music one. Also didn't work (yet did on an emulator. Fortunately in this case, I just had to swap the sav file back and forth).

    But I'll try that code. Results will be in in a few mins if I can find the USB thingie.

    Seems that code does work. But knowing that and what causes the failure of certain codes, what's the AP fix code if any? And if such exists, are there any negative effects from using it?
     
  6. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,289
    Country:
    if you're using this "System for M3i Zero & M3DS Real(26-1-2011)". then after you drawn a card and try to choose (move to) a different card, the game should 100% freeze. the only way to fix the freeze is to use the AP Fix Code or it might called Game Enabler in the cheat database...

    http://cheats.gbatemp.net/forum/index.php?topic=5867.0

    if you're going to use cheats, it's better to use Instant Code instead of Always On
     
  7. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Could you explain that to me? I used to use an iTouchDS (Supercard DSTWO, now) and I never knew the difference between Instant Code and Always On. Ya know, M3 wasn't exactly the best at documenting their features.
     
  8. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,289
    Country:
    Instant Code means the codes are activated while the game is booting
    Always On means the codes will be activated 10 seconds after the game has finished booting

    so, the difference between the two is a 10 second delay

    AP Fix Codes (or Game Enabler Codes) must use Instant Code for it to work on some games
     
  9. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting, thanks for clearing that up for me!
     

Share This Page