Hacking why can't i boot up my r4i?

The Executor

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
39
Trophies
0
Location
Sydney
XP
60
Country
hi, i have an r4i and a ds lite. i downloaded the firmware and put it on my micro sd. for some reason there's this picture saying menu? and it freezes there. how do i fix this? please help
 

Chaz.

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2009
Messages
313
Trophies
0
Location
UK
XP
151
Country
You sure its an R4i? Sounds like DSTT to me, I've never had that with my R4i, but I had a micro SD picture with menu? on it. Try a different kernal.
 

Depravo

KALSARIKÄNNIT
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
5,360
Trophies
1
Location
Purgatory
XP
4,126
Country
United Kingdom
The Executor said:
hi, i have an r4i and a ds lite. i downloaded the firmware and put it on my micro sd. for some reason there's this picture saying menu? and it freezes there. how do i fix this? please help
You have the wrong firmware for your DSTT-based R4 clone.
 

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
4,979
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
219
Country
United States
Depravo said:
The Executor said:
hi, i have an r4i and a ds lite. i downloaded the firmware and put it on my micro sd. for some reason there's this picture saying menu? and it freezes there. how do i fix this? please help
You have the wrong firmware for your DSTT-based R4 clone.
Isn't the DSTT an R4 clone?


Fuck clones, too confusing.
 

Depravo

KALSARIKÄNNIT
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
5,360
Trophies
1
Location
Purgatory
XP
4,126
Country
United Kingdom
R4's (and their many clones) get stuck with a black screen and the word 'Loading...' in white letters when the wrong firmware is used. DSTT's get the little red SD card asking for a menu.
 

The Executor

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
39
Trophies
0
Location
Sydney
XP
60
Country
Depravo said:
The Executor said:
hi, i have an r4i and a ds lite. i downloaded the firmware and put it on my micro sd. for some reason there's this picture saying menu? and it freezes there. how do i fix this? please help
You have the wrong firmware for your DSTT-based R4 clone.
there is a red sd card with an unhappy face saying menu?. could anyone please give me a link for a new firmware if my R4i is indeed DSTT based? and does that work with ds lites?
 

injected11

Crescent Fresh™
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
1,776
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
152
Country
United States
The Executor said:
Depravo said:
The Executor said:
hi, i have an r4i and a ds lite. i downloaded the firmware and put it on my micro sd. for some reason there's this picture saying menu? and it freezes there. how do i fix this? please help
You have the wrong firmware for your DSTT-based R4 clone.
there is a red sd card with an unhappy face saying menu?. could anyone please give me a link for a new firmware if my R4i is indeed DSTT based? and does that work with ds lites?
If it's a DSTT-based R4i, odds are the web address is printed right on the label of the card.
 

The Executor

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
39
Trophies
0
Location
Sydney
XP
60
Country
injected11 said:
The Executor said:
Depravo said:
The Executor said:
hi, i have an r4i and a ds lite. i downloaded the firmware and put it on my micro sd. for some reason there's this picture saying menu? and it freezes there. how do i fix this? please help
You have the wrong firmware for your DSTT-based R4 clone.
there is a red sd card with an unhappy face saying menu?. could anyone please give me a link for a new firmware if my R4i is indeed DSTT based? and does that work with ds lites?
If it's a DSTT-based R4i, odds are the web address is printed right on the label of the card.
that's strange... there's a website on the label but it says r4i-sdhc.com?
 

injected11

Crescent Fresh™
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
1,776
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
152
Country
United States
The Executor said:
injected11 said:
The Executor said:
Depravo said:
The Executor said:
hi, i have an r4i and a ds lite. i downloaded the firmware and put it on my micro sd. for some reason there's this picture saying menu? and it freezes there. how do i fix this? please help
You have the wrong firmware for your DSTT-based R4 clone.
there is a red sd card with an unhappy face saying menu?. could anyone please give me a link for a new firmware if my R4i is indeed DSTT based? and does that work with ds lites?
If it's a DSTT-based R4i, odds are the web address is printed right on the label of the card.
that's strange... there's a website on the label but it says r4i-sdhc.com?
Why is that strange? My R4i comes from the same site. As far as clones go, it's pretty good.
 

hundshamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 22, 2009
Messages
1,810
Trophies
0
XP
924
Country
United States
For some reason my computer will not go there unless I type the www. in front of the address on the card. The current firmware is 1.13b and was only updated a couple days ago. All you do is unpack the .rar files directly to the root of the card. I also put the games in the root because when I created a "games" folder it couldn't find the .sav files. I have found that the DSTT menu has more compatablility and have found a way to launch that menu either by the second button ("multimedia") or launching the menu as a .nds rom.
 

11211989

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 17, 2009
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
56
Country
United States
Depravo said:
R4's (and their many clones) get stuck with a black screen and the word 'Loading...' in white letters when the wrong firmware is used. DSTT's get the little red SD card asking for a menu.


I just bought an R4i and am having that black loading screen problem, can someone tell me how to fix it?

I've downloaded the firmware from several different places and none of them work.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    [sends Washington after them]
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    girls kiss other girls and nobody bats an eye, BUT WHENI KISS MY HOMIES GOODNIGHT IM NOW GAY
    +1
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    double standers

    are a bitch
    +2
  • C @ ch13696:
    Did you make sure to have socks on before kissing them goodnight?
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    The Core i9 seems like a nice CPU
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    need 32 gigs for Blender and shit like that
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    also dual wielding 580's are pretty nice for several games and blender
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    Hi Catboy
    +1
  • The Catboy @ The Catboy:
    Hey hey~
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Jesus super bowl tickets are like 5 grand this year
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Imagine if they didn't sell.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Who would pay Rhianna then
  • D @ Danali:
    hi, does someone know how to get the kernel update? for NDS
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    There is no kernel update for DS
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    There might be kernel updates for various DS flash carts
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    what is a kernel update? and what is it for?
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    In which case find either the website or suitable download section and hopefully it is there
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    *website for the flash cart in question
  • Maq47 @ Maq47:
    Soooo, uhhhh, how do I post a meme to /memes/ now? I don't see an option now...
  • Maq47 @ Maq47:
    Figured it out... Man, that is convoluted.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Kernel for the DS is loaded from the carts kinda lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Well some carts
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Well some carts