Question Why are the deleted post "placeholders" remaining in the threads?

  • Thread starter Thread starter lwiz
  • Start date Start date
  • Views Views 987
  • Replies Replies 8

lwiz

May sarcasm turn my tongue into a crisp
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2012
Messages
647
Solutions
1
Reaction score
898
Trophies
3
Age
56
XP
2,572
Country
Finland
I do kind of understand that the reason for mod deleting the post is shown to the original writer of deleted posting for transparency. Sometimes though when reading threads for at least fun, maybe even for a bit of profit having several pages of deleted posts can get a bit annoying, not to mention breaking the flow of conversation.

As for myself, I wouldn't mind the deleted posts to be removed altogether, with maybe a post from mod asking to keep the discussion on topic.

//EDIT
Solved

Preferences -> GBAtemp options -> Do not show deleted posts placeholders
 
Last edited by lwiz,
Hmm, you got a point. I sent it to the mod chat and asked what the others think.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lwiz
It helps to indicate to the reader that there was something there previously, so that if someone references something about those posts in a post that still survives even if you dont have the full context you can at least piece together that you're missing something. This helps to avoid awkward situations where you think someone is talking to themselves or saying something totally random, and reply mentioning such.

That said, one placeholder for each post does litter some threads that have a lot of deleted posts. It would be neater to collapse them to be like "10 deleted posts" or similar.
 
Would be good as a preference. I personally like it to see the larger context of the thread, but I completely understand the opposite. Just giving people the choice seems ideal.
i could've sworn there was a preference to turn it off, i don't see the placeholders and i don't think i have a ublock filter to hide them. i just don't remember where the setting is/was if it was removed
 
i could've sworn there was a preference to turn it off, i don't see the placeholders and i don't think i have a ublock filter to hide them. i just don't remember where the setting is/was if it was removed
Now you said it, found the setting. Thanks a ton!
 
It's used as a reminder to indicate there was a post before. You can also see who deleted that and the reason for deletion. Simple as that.
 
It's used as a reminder to indicate there was a post before. You can also see who deleted that and the reason for deletion. Simple as that.
When there are three pages of successive "reminders" of deleted posts, it serves no-one nor any purpose. Peeve fixed though as there is a setting to turn those posts off completely.
 

Site & Scene News