Homebrew Which programming language should I use to make homebrew?

ReidTJ

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
The title has enough information to answer this question. I'm a beginner and have not made a single piece of homebrew.

Deleted member 373057

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Don't start programming for the 3DS until you've learned C.

Books? Just get K&R, aka The C Programming Language.
Videos? Not a fan of these as much, but Derek Banas has made some nice videos covering C. mycodeschool & Ashley Mills (I think I spelled that right) are also good resources to start with as well.

Honestly, if you've never programmed before, C isn't the best place to start unless you're really confident in yourself. You'll need some dedication. I'm not saying you can't do it, but Python is definitely the easier language to learn.

Practice, practice, and practice. Work on smaller projects before you dive into 3DS work at all.

Finally, pointers: make sure you really understand them :)

Have fun!

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Trophies
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
Country
Australia
You'll probably want a year or two of programming experience before trying to program homebrew. *Apparently* python is easy but I can't personally understand it (get some braces python!!). I think the absolute easiest one is JavaScript just for basic understanding (loops, conditionals and stuff) plus you can make interesting things right away without needing any extra software (just Notepad and a Web browser). Once you get to C and C++, as mentioned, you need to understand at least a little computer science for memory management and pointers and objects and stuff. If you already understand the basics from using an easier language you'll find it not so impossible.

D

Deleted User

I wanna be a programmer too. So I'll pick Python. But I have 0 experience in coding some shit.

And yea, it's gonna take ALOT of time to learn that.

MichiS97

"Leftist snowflake milennial"
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany