Which Graphics Card is Better?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Garchomp, Mar 3, 2011.

Mar 3, 2011
  1. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    I am upgrading from my Nvidia Geforce 9200m GS which i heard only supports 256MB of memory. I was wondering if it was wise to upgrade to a Nvidia GT 220 which supports 1024MB for $70 or a Nvidia Geforce GT 240 which supports 1GB and is $80. I am looking for the better card for gaming because i play games like Starcraft 2 and it does not run smooth at all on my 9200m GS....

    the links to look at both of these cards are:
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/PNY+-+Verto+NV...d=1218121949861


    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Asus+-+NVIDIA+...&st=GeForce 9200M GS&cp=2&lp=8#BVRRWidgetID

    Edit: oh yeah btw my PC rating is only 3.2 [​IMG]
     


  2. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nvidia are almost completely obsolete nowadays.
    I'd go for an ATI card, if I were you, like a Radeon.
     
  3. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    can you tell me a good cheapish raedon please?

    Edit: is this a good one?
    XFX - ATI RADEON HD 4350 1GB DDR2 PCI Express Graphics Card
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No, it's low-end.
     
  5. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    can someone please tell me just a better card for starcraft 2 and such gaming, because it lags
    my laptop:

    HP Pavillion dv5-1017nr
    Intel Core Duo CPU 2.00Ghz
    4.00G of ram

    Edit: the card has to be $100 or less, cuz im on a budget
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You cannot upgrade it because it's a laptop. The 9200M is integrated and there's no slot for a dedicated.
     
  7. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    wow really? that makes me pissed off........
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You are (by far) not the only one. People discover every day that they can't upgrade their non-gaming laptop to game. It's one of the things you lose in exchange for portability.
     
  9. 2wirends

    Newcomer 2wirends Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    Dude. You have a laptop. You can't easily upgrade laptop graphics card.

    And for starcraft 2 - have you tried...

    1024x768 resolution
    low settings EVERYTHING

    that works for me and i have a card equivalent to a Geforce 8400 (I have the Quadro NVS 140m). your card the nvidia 9200m should be slightly faster than my card.

    I'm thinking your card should be able to run it smoothly 1v1 on ladder. or even 2v2 with some stuttering.

    those cards you linked to in your main post are for desktop computers.
     
  10. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    meh its not terrible but the fps for starcraft 2 sucks and it can lag terribly sometimes, most other games run fine on optimum settings though.
     
  11. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    If you want to game, you'll need to build yourself a desktop PC or buy a higher-end laptop.
    And Nvidia's not obsolete. *points at GTX 590* Don't forget about the bonuses of Nvidia, such as PhysX and the (optional) 3D Vision.
     
  12. Garchomp
    OP

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States

    ok thanks for the info, does low settings look that bad? i like good-looking games
     
  13. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nvidia are stopping Linux support with Optimus, as far as I know.

    I mean yeah sure for Windows gaming it's fine I guess, for some reason I totally forgot about Windows there.
     
  14. 2wirends

    Newcomer 2wirends Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I actually run it at 1280x720 for the widescreen - scaled cuz I'd see more.

    No. It doesnt look too bad. It looks kind of like an early PS2 game. lol. Anyhow. This doesn't affect the gameplay at all. Since there is less detail on the screen, your concentration will actually go up... And a lot of Pro Sc2 players actually use Low settings anyhow due to choice since there IS less details to spot for.

    If your laptop has pretty low resolution like 1280x800, you could run it at native screen. When run native, EVEN at LOW settings - it still looks awesome. Once I put it on my native, 1440x900, it looked great but i had a 10 FPS drop... so I just went to a lower resolution...

    FPS is generally 50-60FPS, going towards 30 for bigger battles but still playable.


    But still if you dont care, max performance is lowest res, lowest everything. Still looks halfway decent.
     
  15. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Most gamers use Windows anyways. And a lot of games don't run on Linux natively.
     
  16. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cards with optimus suck even for Wine because without the right configuration you won't get HAL.
    On a Linux box nearly 100% of my Steam games (of which I have a lot) are completely compatible and run smoothly via Wine and I don't even have a powerful system. In fact Source games run faster through Wine than they do on Windows.
     
  17. Dreamboy21

    Newcomer Dreamboy21 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Somewhere on earth
    Country:
    Portugal
    at that price limit you can try
    Sapphire Ati HD5570 1GB DDR3
     
  18. I2aven's_Sag

    Member I2aven's_Sag GBATemp Otaku

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    You know the documents folder? There's a text file in the StarCraft II folder called "Variables.txt" with some proper help you can modify it to get increased performance.

    http://us.battle.net/sc2/en/forum/topic/375107634 - There are lots of tweaks in this thread that can lower the requirements of StarCraft II beyond that of the traditional Graphics settings / GUI interface. Give it a shot, also turn down the heavy CPU settings like Physics to low; it'll help boost your FPS some.

    I also want to establish something. StarCraft II is NOT a good-looking game. Okay, StarCraft II's*** development started in 2003. You're going to have to choose between performance (FPS) or Quality (Shiny!!!) if you want to play StarCraft II on a laptop w/o a powerful GPU.

    fixed, but SC II still looks comparable to WoW >.< Stylistically anyway.
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That.
    No.

    That's not how the development process works.
     
  20. RiotShooter

    Member RiotShooter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    My OCed Gtx 560 Ti says otherwise.
     

Share This Page