Hacking Question Where to start with a 1.0.0 Switch

dsdavis6

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
124
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
New Bedford, Massachusetts
XP
525
Country
Hi,

I believe SX OS bricked my switch. Luckily I had a 1.0.0 unit in storage in case the worst happened. I pretty much want to leave this switch completely untouched (to keep it unbanned) and run everything through an emummc that will never connect. I have the Tetris game as well as an RCM jig. I have had a look and it's not really very clear to me what the best way to go about this is, possibly because there are so few 1.0.0 units around now but I believe I can get coldboot on this. Could somebody just kind of point me in the right direction please?
 

snoofly

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
1,013
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
2,081
Country
United Kingdom
what I’ve done on mine is to install fake news to assist in running pegascape via the dns entries and then use nereba to boot into an emunand

but end of day it’s simply stuck in a drawer gathering dust as with a ‘modchip’ on another unbanned unit there’s no need for any of these shenanigans
as everything (stock and cfw emunands) can be running latest with coldboot

but whatever you do end up doing, be safe, 1.0.0’s are very rare these days, and never update the sysnand itself unless you are sure you can downgrade it again, even if practically speaking it’s just for the lulz of having one

Oh, and btw, if your’ bricked’ unit is not ipatched, i think with the right advice you’re certainly not permanent bricked
 
Last edited by snoofly,

dsdavis6

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
124
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
New Bedford, Massachusetts
XP
525
Country
Great thanks, Going to look into pegaswitch + nereba!

I found the old unit to be completely responseless however after what you have said I just plugged it into my pc and it is actually showing as libusbK Nintendo Switch APX mode.... So maybe there is hope and maybe I will hold fire on the 1.0.0 unit for now....
 

minooch_e

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 28, 2017
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
835
Country
United States
If the old one is able to use RCM, it hasn't been permanently bricked. Worst case, restore that precious backup you made & have somewhere safe
 
  • Like
Reactions: jimmyj

dsdavis6

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
124
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
New Bedford, Massachusetts
XP
525
Country
So the reason I thought it was bricked is because I had read somewhere that it was bricking switches with 9.0.0 firmware. At this point I was using atmosphere mostly but for some reason, it wasn't working after a failed update in choidujournx. As in the update didn't even really start, just kept getting an error execution. Then I was in non CFW at some stage and it offered me an update, I thought I wouldn't really be looking to downgrade again so said hell, why not. Then Atmosphere still wasn't working so I tried to boot up into SX OS with 2.9.0 at which point it just black screened on me. I tried rebooting it and the SX injector dongle just flashed a light quickly but still nothing on the Switch. At this point I was unable to do anything with it so just kind of assumed.

Found my rawnand.bin but still looking for boot0 and boot1. I am not sure I ever had these to be honest. Was there perhaps not an option for this in the early stages of CFW on switch?

Edit: Forgot to mention, I can successfully get into Hekate, but I can't launch atmos of course.
 

tatumanu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2004
Messages
614
Trophies
0
XP
1,912
Country
Portugal
[QUOTE=" Edit: Forgot to mention, I can successfully get into Hekate, but I can't launch atmos of course.[/QUOTE]
When you boot into hetake, it can recognise your eMMC? IF so you can recover it. I think you can extract PRODINFO from your raw nand dump? i'm not sure about that, but I think thats how I extracted mine....
 
  • Like
Reactions: dsdavis6

Reecey

Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
5,866
Trophies
1
Location
At Home :)
XP
3,755
Country
I thought on firmware 1.0 to 3.0 you could use cfw straight from your sd card? I thought this was a tethered exploit!
 
Last edited by Reecey,

Andalitez

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
495
Trophies
0
Location
Final Space
XP
1,132
Country
United States
So the reason I thought it was bricked is because I had read somewhere that it was bricking switches with 9.0.0 firmware. At this point I was using atmosphere mostly but for some reason, it wasn't working after a failed update in choidujournx. As in the update didn't even really start, just kept getting an error execution. Then I was in non CFW at some stage and it offered me an update, I thought I wouldn't really be looking to downgrade again so said hell, why not. Then Atmosphere still wasn't working so I tried to boot up into SX OS with 2.9.0 at which point it just black screened on me. I tried rebooting it and the SX injector dongle just flashed a light quickly but still nothing on the Switch. At this point I was unable to do anything with it so just kind of assumed.

Found my rawnand.bin but still looking for boot0 and boot1. I am not sure I ever had these to be honest. Was there perhaps not an option for this in the early stages of CFW on switch?

Edit: Forgot to mention, I can successfully get into Hekate, but I can't launch atmos of course.
So you updated from the ofw switch menu, it then started the reboot process but never got further then that? Maybe update to the latest Atmosphere and see if it can boot

Edit: if you have an additional microSD card, you might want to try and blank it and just use essential files on there from atmosphere or SXOS
 
Last edited by Andalitez,

Zonark

Zonark - Noun - A God
Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
374
Trophies
0
XP
1,781
Country
United States
First off, SXOS cant brick your switch, you did. Secondly, did you rebuild the nand yet? 100 percent the system can be fixed even if you neglected to make a backup nand properly.
You literally can recover from anything with a nand backup including replacing parts.

Finally, All you need to do is update to beta SXOS 2.9.1
 
Last edited by Zonark,

dsdavis6

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
124
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
New Bedford, Massachusetts
XP
525
Country
The switch was not booting stock so it was not a case of just updating SX OS. I have restored my NAND and all seems to be well now. The 1.0.0 Unit goes back in storage. Thanks all for help!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Silly me thinking people can ignore things they dislike