Hardware What's wrong with the Dpad?

VresiBerba

OP
Trophies
XP
I have never used a Wii before and can't tell if I'm doing something wrong, but out of three consoles and three Wiimotes, none of them responds using the dpad. They all sync up together; all three controllers 'work' on all three consoles. On all of them, the +,- and Home buttons work, but none of the dpads work. Two of the consoles goes directly to a menu, I can flick pages back and fourth using the + and - buttons and another menu pops up when pressing 'Home' and the power button works on all three and it both starts the console as well as shutting in off, but that's it. the 'A' button does nothing and the dpad is dead. On one of the consoles I get stuck at choosing language, but gets passed the health warning page where you're prompted to press 'A'.

Two of the consoles are from the same seller with two Wimotes. One console is bought working separately and one controller was gifted to me as working. Syncing seems to be working, the controllers hum, buzz and tweets and the first bottom blue led is on when synced, all four flashes when not. Batteries are new and works, obviously.

A Google search comes up with one hit, and that's it. So either I'm doing something wrong or I have hit the motherload of RNG errors no-one has ever heard of, having the same fault on either all three consoles or all three controllers.

Any ideas?

VresiBerba

OP
Trophies
XP
Right. Can someone at least confirm if I'm doing something wrong, I have never used a Wii before. Is the dpad supposed to work at all on the menu screen?

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
Trophies
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Right. Can someone at least confirm if I'm doing something wrong, I have never used a Wii before. Is the dpad supposed to work at all on the menu screen?