What's wrong with my laptop?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by SERN, Nov 7, 2015.

1. SERN
    OP

SERN Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Sep 6, 2015
    France
    Computer experts i need your help! Whats happening to my laptop? Some reason my laptop screen won't turn on but when i tried connecting it to a display this happens. Something to do with graghics card or something? I'm a noob so yeah. I have no idea what is happening. IS this fixable?

[​IMG]

2. 4ur0r

4ur0r GBAtemp Fan

Feb 7, 2015
    Italy
    It happened to me twice, and twice the graphic card was broken. But before jumping to conclusion, could you try with a different cable (HDMI/DVI/VGA)?

3. SERN
    OP

SERN Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Sep 6, 2015
    France
    I'm an absolute noob on computer stuff but is it possible to replace the graphic card for a laptop or nah?

4. sarkwalvein

sarkwalvein More coffee, please!

GBAtemp Patron
    sarkwalvein is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Jun 29, 2007
    Germany
    Niedersachsen
    Well that looks like video ram corruption due to either broken video ram or broken gpu writing shit on the video ram, so almost sure it is a broken "graphic card" (actually a chip soldered into the mainboard).
    It is not really fixable on a consumer laptop, unless you want to experiment resoldering the chip, but I wouldn't even think about that.

PS: Best case scenario you are using some GPU that uses system RAM for video memory and your RAM is actually broken, you can change the RAM, but I believe this is almost improbable.

4ur0r likes this.
  5. SERN
    OP

SERN Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Sep 6, 2015
    France
    Alright thanks!

6. FAST6191

FAST6191 Techromancer

pip Reporter
    Nov 21, 2005
    United Kingdom