What's better..Softmod or Hardmod?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Stephanie, Feb 17, 2009.

Feb 17, 2009
  1. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    If I installed a chip in my Wii would there be any downsides? Would installing a chip do it all? Does softmodding have any advantage over hardmodding? Thanks.

    {edit} spelling


    ~Steph
     


  2. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    good and bad with both but i go with modchip all the way....
    best overall compatibility with backups... both wii and gamecube...
    plus the gamecube compatibility is the best and has the soundfix...
    most chips have a solderless solution these days... (depends on your wii)
    go modchips...
    oh and some bricks you need a modchip to fix so in a way its built in brick protection...
    some chips have update blockers built in and the also allow autobootig of discs...

    just do a search... drivekey has a chip that does not have to be solderled at all
    it interfaces with the dvd drive only.. via a ribbon cabl... downside to this though is that only 3x speeds for backups unlike the 6x you get with other models and no sound fix for gamecube games... but the tech is getting better....
    also the argon2 even though had issues with tam twizzers looks to be a good chip... has a built in wiiclip... check it all out..
    http://drivekey.com/
    http://www.argonchannel.com/

    -kitt050383
     
  3. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Hardmod for backups softmod for everything else like helath screen edting,wii menu,emulators,etc.
     
  4. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    yay!


    ~Steph
     
  5. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    and welcome to the world of hackers hahahahaha [​IMG]
     
  6. Notorious9i6

    Newcomer Notorious9i6 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    I have both solution and i must say, they are quite equal.
    i would go for the softmod, it will save you time and money.

    Loading times are cut a bit with a modchip but it's no biggie
    oh, and gc audio fix does not work on my wiikey 1.9s. can't play ikaruga
     
  7. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    Does softmodding and hardmodding conflict with each other? If so, in what way?


    ~Steph
     
  8. Razorwing

    Member Razorwing Elite Four Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No conflicts, both will happily run side by side.

    Edit: Of course if you were hard-modded there is no need for some soft mods such as CIOSCORP.
     
  9. tomazzzi

    Member tomazzzi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    Im just happy with softmod

    The game compatibility is nearly 100%

    It fits my need i don t see the need of hardmod anymore
     
  10. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    I may just pick up a modchip for the extra assurance! (seeing as my dvd burner is only for +RW)

    Thanks. And I love Skies of Arcadia [​IMG]


    ~Steph
     
  11. waninkoko

    Member waninkoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Salamanca, Spain
    Country:
    Spain
    Hardmod.
     
  12. elfsander

    Member elfsander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hardmod is always better since backups run at full speed. Also it doesn't harm the firmware, unlike softmods.
     
  13. Blasingame

    Newcomer Blasingame Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone know if softmodding voids warranty? I'll take a guess Nintendo isn't dumb on softmodding and updated their warranty contracts. I was wondering if anyone found exact words in the warranty contract.
     
  14. zapu

    Member zapu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Poland
    You are running unsigned code which is against their rules. This probably void your warranty.
     
  15. jp_zer0

    Newcomer jp_zer0 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    the only thing hardmod has on the soft is that the load times are slightly better and that the videos run smoothly.

    I think it's a well kept secret that FMVs stutter badly under a softmod.
     
  16. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My Wii is hardmodded. It's perfect. Never any problems at all. But with those softmods, there's always complaining. 'This game doesn't work'. 'The movie stutters'. 'Will this work? Is there a fix'. 'I wish they would update their loader'.
    With my chipped Wii, I never have to worry about anything. Just burn & it will work, 100% guaranteed. Gamecube games too, they will work without any problems. No problems with multigame discs, no memory card problems.
     
  17. magic12

    Member magic12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    Croatia
    It's a dumb question. hardmod all the why. But where is the magic in hardmod?
     
  18. Don Killah

    Member Don Killah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,127
    Country:
    France
    You're already softmod Steph, right?
    So going harmod will only give you more compatiblity (which softmod might also do, but it's upto you).
    I'm fine with Softmode since i've never encountered a game i can't play.
     
  19. m-tek

    Member m-tek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Theres only one way to find out......

    FIIIGGGHT!!!
     
  20. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    ^^^

    ROFLMAO

    Anyways, Steph, this question and a lot of your previous, has been asked multiple times. Pay respect to the search button and use it.

    Furthermore, this topic had already been covered in HSG.

    But if you dont like clicking another link, I'd say:

    Get a chip if you have extra cash!
     

Share This Page