What exactly does formatting do?

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by Janthran, Feb 21, 2012.

Feb 21, 2012
  1. Janthran
    OP

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    My 3DS can't connect to WiFi in DS mode, and the only solution I've seen is formatting.
    What'll this do to my Mii Plaza and MK7 data?
    Does it all get wiped? :/
     
  2. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    I had the same problem, and formatting did not work.

    But to answer your question, formatting wipes your settings so it's like a brand new 3DS system. You'd have a new friendcode, mii plaza is cleared, everything.

    eShop data is kept separate though, so anything you've bought from the store will still be there, you'd just have to re-download it all.

    Mario Kart 7 will be fine since it is in the cart itself, not the 3DS. Gamesaves for eShop titles will be wiped though.

    If I were you I'd call up Nintendo, use the warranty on the thing without formatting. (I say call because on the repair section of the site nothing really matches the description for DS mode wireless not working) There's a possibility that you might get to keep your friend code / system settings and even get a new 3DS.
     
  3. Janthran
    OP

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I just sent it in for screen scratches.. It takes ten freaking days! D:
    I'll email them and see what's up, though.
     
  4. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    My brother got a new 3ds when he sent for screen scratching (so he got one with the raised bumpers) if they do that for you the wireless problem will be "fixed". Its just luck if they do that though. Good luck!
     
  5. Janthran
    OP

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Well, they didn't. Do you know of a way to make DSi games use the settings from 3DS mode instead of DS mode? :/
     
  6. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    No, I didn't have any luck trying to get Four Swords to work connecting with my cousins 3DS back then. :/
    I really want to know what causes this. When I had this problem I searched online and couldn't really find anyone else that was having this problem.
     
  7. Janthran
    OP

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I'm talking about WiFi in DS mode, not wireless completely.
     
  8. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    I know... But four swords (a dsi) game doesn't connect either, as well as download play in ds mode. For me at least.

    edit: I just realized you probably meant like dsi-enhanced games. Like how Pokemon B/W can connect to wpa?
    In that case, ... I really have no idea. Sorry man. :/
     
  9. fodderstein

    Newcomer fodderstein Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i have no problem connecting four sword(dsi) to four sword(3ds).did you turn on wireless connection on the dsi?
    On to the problem at hand, did you try setting the wifi in ds-mode?Under Internet setting/Nintendo DS Connections.
     
  10. Janthran
    OP

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I did it exactly the same way I did with my DS (Which could connect).
    For some reason, my 3DS in DS mode can see the network that I want to connect to, but the connection test always fails.
    Also, 3DS mode WiFi works fine and so does all other wireless.
     
  11. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    oh, then its not the same problem that I had.

    Uhh, is your wireless WEP or no security?
     
  12. Janthran
    OP

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
  13. ferofax

    Member ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    sometimes on WEP, the DS gets confused if you're using Hex or ASCII keys. i'm not really sure whether the DS uses Hex or ASCII when you supply a security code, i sometimes have problems connecting to my router as well, but i usually stick to using 5digit or 10digi numerical passwords.

    optimal though is no security.
     
  14. sadak5

    Member sadak5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Country:
    Mexico
    I had the same issue, and I had to assign an static IP address to the 3ds, now the DS and DSi games can connect to wifi. This is strange, as my DSi started suffering the same
     

Share This Page