What drive is best to replace D3-2 with?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by winky, Dec 1, 2010.

Dec 1, 2010
  1. winky
    OP

    Newcomer winky Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Russia
    I have a black Wii so i want to replace my DVD-drive with something capable of playing burned discs. Could someone please advice which type of drive will be the best to buy? I may suppose that from the group of D2A-D2E the last is the newest revision but I don't realize what is DMS and which of them all will be the best to suits my console.
     
  2. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    i suppose anything. some of the older models (dms?) had trouble reading dual layers so maybe d2b or d2c(2).
     
  3. BenieUK

    Member BenieUK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depending what drive is in your black wii just get a new D2E board from ebay and switch the one on your drive..
     
  4. winky
    OP

    Newcomer winky Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Russia
    MFDC12
    BenieUK
    Thanks for your reply, what i understood is there is no really matter which one to use so i'll buy something of D2 series
     
  5. smartybones

    Newcomer smartybones Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    for playing backup copies of your games, i wouldent even bother cracking the wii open... a softmod solution is by far the better option. I would only consider replacing the drive if its broken...
     
  6. winky
    OP

    Newcomer winky Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Russia
    the primary use of drive is playing the gamecube backups for me
     
  7. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    For gamecube backup, wode is far more practical. have you considered it?
     
  8. winky
    OP

    Newcomer winky Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Russia
    yes, i'm going to buy wode soon but i also want to have the opportunity to play discs, i don't know why, for no special reason, may be i just want to have my Wii usable in every part, and D3-2 makes me sad. And at last after the the year of living with softmod i just don't believe in 100% compatibility of emulation, i think in rare cases playing real discs is more reliable and gives sense of confidence (relative to wode, most probably i'm mistaken though)
     
  9. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    WODE and disk loading is the same exactly.
    You should be aware that in both those cases some Gamecube games have issues with audio streaming.
    If you want perfect gamecube you'll have to physically put a modchip in, one that does support audio streaming on top of your new drive.
    Another (cheaper) alternative is to buy a real gamecube(20$? with a controller) with a modchip (20$) but you will be restrained to burning the small camcorder DVD.
     
  10. winky
    OP

    Newcomer winky Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Russia
    I've already got the gamecube but it has no digital output and i don't like the composite visual quality. Could you please advice the Wii chip for a perfect gamecube audio support, and the dvd-drive model suitable for setting up this chip? And one more detail: can i use the chip on the drive and the wode at the same time (at least is there a space for placing both of them)?
     
  11. BenieUK

    Member BenieUK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WiiKey v2 chip [​IMG]

    But you must have D3-1 or lower drive..
     
  12. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    d2pro as well [​IMG]

    either one is fine, its speculated that both are from the same team anyways
     
  13. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes you can install both of them but you made me wonder if a modchip would make the wode stream audio correctly so i went to check wode forums.
    And the answer is no and never. Because wode does not have enough pins or something like that.
    http://www.wodejukebox.org/viewtopic.php?f...53&start=20
    but running from disks with modchip with wode is confirmed by wiisel
    http://www.wodejukebox.org/viewtopic.php?f...53&start=70
     
  14. winky
    OP

    Newcomer winky Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Russia
    It's very useful info, thanks, so i'll order the premodded drive and the wode. The only question is what's better: D2pro 6 or Wiikey v2? or i'll cast a die to make a choice?
     

Share This Page