What Display resolution?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Prime, Sep 5, 2008.

Sep 5, 2008

What Display resolution? by Prime at 12:51 PM (966 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have my 360 connected up to my 360 via a DVI -> HDMI cable, so the dvi goes in my TV and HDMI goes in the 360. The audio is the original 360 cable, which come with the 360, with only red and white in the audio side of the TV and then the other side of the cable is plugged in the 360.

    When I power up my 360 the TV says 'DVI 1280x1034x85' and on the screen setting menu it says '1920 x 1080, Widescreen, Expanded'


    What Display resolution am I getting? (1080p, 1080i etc)

    EDIT I looked at this image on wikipedia and it says I'm getting HD 1080 is that correct?
     
  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Does your TV have 1080p first of all? It sounds like the TV has a lower than 1080 resolution.

    Another possibility is that your TV does not support widescreen through DVI, as 1280x1024 is a 5:4 resolution

    But to answer your question, you are getting a 1080p signal which your TV is displaying at lower than 1080p/
     
  3. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In the instructions booklet, at the 'Connecting to sources with dvi output' it says the TV supports:

    576i, 576p, 720p & 1080i
     
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    I mean number of physical pixels.
     
  5. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    errr i don't think it tells you.
     
  6. GN-001 Exia

    Banned GN-001 Exia Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
  7. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Set what?
     
  8. GN-001 Exia

    Banned GN-001 Exia Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    your atari
     
  9. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    In dashboard options you can check which resolutions you want to use. Uncheck 1080i/p because if your TV doesn't support 1080P, 720P is the next best looking IMO.
     

Share This Page