what did i do wrong ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Youkai, Dec 28, 2008.

Dec 28, 2008

what did i do wrong ? by Youkai at 5:06 PM (986 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Youkai
    OP

    Member Youkai Demon

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Germany , NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    Well ...
    i just softmodded a friends wii

    1. i placed twilight hack on his 3.1 wii (the same i used for my 3.2 wii)
    2. run zelda and installed homebrew channel
    3. installed cIOS and than WiiGator GammA

    well now the problem only half of the games work -.- while on my wii they all work ... allways disc read errors

    did i do something wrong ? i cannot remember doing anything else with my and my cousins wii.


    do the wii's have different drives which some better/worse at reading discs ?
    or does it have something to do that he has 3.1 and i 3.2 ?
    should i update his wii to 3.2 ?
     
  2. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    it's obvious actually.

    Gamma doesn't work properly with 3.1 AFAIK. So cIOS Downgrader his Wii to 3.2
     
  3. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    my friends wii is 3.1 and his works fine
     
  4. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    Id say that the issue is the wii dvd drive. Some wii drives are very picky with media types and quality, where others seem able to read anything you throw at them. Try using a different type of media with his wii and see if that fixes things. I've noticed on my wii, that waninkoko's Cios Rev7 better reads backups than wiigators, even though the backup loading code is supposed to be the same.
     
  5. Youkai
    OP

    Member Youkai Demon

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Germany , NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    hmm well than it might be his DVD drive ... i updated and no change sadly.
    MOST games get disk read error.
     
  6. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    wich media brand/type are you using???
     
  7. Youkai
    OP

    Member Youkai Demon

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Germany , NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    i am using Real media (brand of the supermarked Real)

    but like i sayed on my wii they work like a charm so it can't be the dvd
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Get dvdinfopro and do a pi/po scan. If you get 90% or better, it's really not the media's fault.
     
  9. Youkai
    OP

    Member Youkai Demon

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Germany , NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    i get error about my drive beeing not suitable for pipo scan
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Do the test with your burner.
     
  11. Youkai
    OP

    Member Youkai Demon

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Germany , NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    thats what i did ... i only have one cd/dvd drive
     

Share This Page