Hacking What am I doing wrong?

MrLRG

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
United States
No matter what I do, (reformat sd card to fat32 twice, re-download, use software, follow the tutorials) ysmenu won't work. I get the files I need, I stick it on the microsd and I just get LOADING...
I really don't like this and it is really getting on my nerves.
PLEASE DONT MAKE ME GO BACK TO THE KERNELS!
Also, for some reason, even thopugh it is legit, I can't use 1.18 off the normal site...
frown.gif
wtf?
 

MrLRG

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
United States
Guild McCommunist said:
1) Wrong section
2) Are you sure it's an authentic R4? If you're not sure, post some pictures.
1) i realized that after I posted it (my internet was acting up)
2) Positive, looking it up and everything. y-know.
Looks like this one
186313.jpg
 

Depravo

KALSARIKÄNNIT
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
5,359
Trophies
2
Location
Purgatory
XP
4,159
Country
United Kingdom
QUOTE said:
Also, for some reason, even thopugh it is legit, I can't use 1.18 off the normal site

That's usually the first sign that you have a clone. Is your SD card bigger than 2Gb and/or SDHC? That would cause a real R4 with v1.18 to get stuck at 'loading'.
 

MrLRG

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
United States
Depravo said:
QUOTE said:
Also, for some reason, even thopugh it is legit, I can't use 1.18 off the normal site

That's usually the first sign that you have a clone. Is your SD card bigger than 2Gb and/or SDHC? That would cause a real R4 with v1.18 to get stuck at 'loading'.


Hmm, its a
"Sandisk 4 GB MicroSDHC

Posts merged

Depravo said:
QUOTE said:
Also, for some reason, even thopugh it is legit, I can't use 1.18 off the normal site

That's usually the first sign that you have a clone. Is your SD card bigger than 2Gb and/or SDHC? That would cause a real R4 with v1.18 to get stuck at 'loading'.


Hmm, its a
"Sandisk 4 GB MicroSDHC"

Posts merged

Depravo said:
QUOTE said:
Also, for some reason, even thopugh it is legit, I can't use 1.18 off the normal site

That's usually the first sign that you have a clone. Is your SD card bigger than 2Gb and/or SDHC? That would cause a real R4 with v1.18 to get stuck at 'loading'.


Hmm, its a
"Sandisk 4 GB MicroSDHC"

Posts merged
Depravo said:
QUOTE said:


Depravo said:
Also, for some reason, even thopugh it is legit, I can't use 1.18 off the normal site

That's usually the first sign that you have a clone. Is your SD card bigger than 2Gb and/or SDHC? That would cause a real R4 with v1.18 to get stuck at 'loading'.

Hmm, its a
"Sandisk 4 GB MicroSDHC"

Posts merged
Depravo said:
QUOTE said:


QUOTE(Depravo @ Oct 30 2009, 05:05 PM)
QUOTE
Also, for some reason, even thopugh it is legit, I can't use 1.18 off the normal site

That's usually the first sign that you have a clone. Is your SD card bigger than 2Gb and/or SDHC? That would cause a real R4 with v1.18 to get stuck at 'loading'.

Hmm, its a
"Sandisk 4 GB MicroSDHC"
 

MrLRG

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
United States
Depravo said:
That could be your problem then. Real, genuine, legit R4's are not SDHC compatible even though many of the clones are.
that's weird, it works with certain software (not-real kernals) and that came with the r4 when I bought it. Huh.
 

Depravo

KALSARIKÄNNIT
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
5,359
Trophies
2
Location
Purgatory
XP
4,159
Country
United Kingdom
MrLRG said:
Depravo said:
That could be your problem then. Real, genuine, legit R4's are not SDHC compatible even though many of the clones are.
that's weird, it works with certain software (not-real kernals) and that came with the r4 when I bought it. Huh.
Then it's not a real R4. Your task is now to determine exactly which type of clone you have and read THIS THREAD to find out whether YSMenu will work on it. If it doesn't, the latest official firmware for your card can probably be found on THIS PAGE.
 

MrLRG

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
United States
Depravo said:
Then it's not a real R4. Your task is now to determine exactly which type of clone you have and read THIS THREAD to find out whether YSMenu will work on it. If it doesn't, the latest official firmware for your card can probably be found on THIS PAGE.
I'm positive it is, it sorta works with some weird kernel, like 1.22 or something?
I can't even get to the site now >_
 

Depravo

KALSARIKÄNNIT
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
5,359
Trophies
2
Location
Purgatory
XP
4,159
Country
United Kingdom
I can assure you that any R4 using a SDHC card is definitely a clone.

Is your card an R4SDHC? That was one of the first clones and (according to the thread I gave you) one of the clones that cannot run YSMenu.
 

MrLRG

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
United States
Depravo said:
I can assure you that any R4 using a SDHC card is definitely a clone.

Is your card an R4SDHC? That was one of the first clones and (according to the thread I gave you) one of the clones that cannot run YSMenu.
No, and it isn't working using the menus now.
Its not. See the pic I posted before? My card looks exactly like that.
 

anubiss

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
41
Trophies
0
XP
29
Country
United States
Many clones! But many of them works. should exactly find the right firmware for which are you actually buying.
 

Aeter

A walking contradiction
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
942
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
The lands of nether
XP
486
Country
Netherlands
Real R4's only work with MicroSD cards up to 2gb maximum.
4gb cannot work on an original R4 since there simply is no SDHC support.

Your card does look like an original R4.
Have you tried using a MicroSD of 2gb or smaller?
Perhaps you can test it with an SD card from your phone or anything, just so you can test if v1.18 or YSMenu will work.
 

NeSchn

Swag.
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
3,599
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Upstate New York
Website
neschncardreviews.tk
XP
1,751
Country
United States
Real R4 production stopped over a year ago, every R4 you buy will be a fake unless the dealer had surplus and the only one I have found that has surplus is GameByGame.com

Yours is fake they all look like the picture you posted but they are fake

/thread
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/_02Oco-wvsM?si=SPeFCErS48gn7srI