Question Weird SX OS Licensing Issue

Discussion in 'Switch - Exploits, Custom Firmwares & Soft Mods' started by HiFX93, Jul 9, 2018.

  1. HiFX93
    OP

    HiFX93 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 9, 2018
    Canada
    Hello all, I posted this on REMOVED, just want to get more eyes on it.

    I experienced a weird licensing issue with SX OS today. Wondering if anyone else experienced the same. I'll number each step below as it occurred.

    1. I own 1 Nintendo Switch. Purchased SX Pro in May. It arrived, activated it. It works great.
    2. Yesterday, purchased a 2nd separate Switch. Plan to use this solely for playing NSP eShop games.
    3. Purchased a separate SX OS code (just the OS code, no dongle)
    4. Code arrived
    5. Booted 2nd switch into SX OS, license request file created
    6. Went to Xecuter License File site. Was expecting to upload my request file, and ask to enter the key I purchased
    7. Instead, website says "Success" and randomly just gives me a license.dat file (What...? What about the code I paid for)?
    8. At this point, I don't trust that file, so I boot into the OS on 2nd switch using TegraRCMSmash
    9. New License Request File Created
    10. Upload this file to Xecuter license site, NOW it prompts me to enter code.
    11. I enter code, validated. Switch works great.
    What's with that 2nd auto generated license code I got at Step 7? Does this invalidate the first switch because I booted using the dongle? It shouldn't, TX says you can use the dongle with more than 1 switch, so I was curious.



    Anyone else experience this?
     
    Last edited by Joe88, Jul 9, 2018 - Reason: Removed warez site name
  2. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    7
    GBAtemp Patron
    magico29 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Aug 2, 2017
    United States
    you can use the dongle with many consoles as you want,if u get a license for each console.
     
  3. HiFX93
    OP

    HiFX93 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 9, 2018
    Canada
    Yep. If you read my whole first post, you'd see I mentioned that. I know that from TX already. And I purchased a separate code for the second console. Just wndering why it gave me a license file w/out the prompt the first time
     
    tiliarou likes this.
  4. Slimmmmmm

    Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Member
    4
    Nov 1, 2007
    the land of lol
    Would this question not be better directed at TX, maybe on their forum?
     
  5. HiFX93
    OP

    HiFX93 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 9, 2018
    Canada
    Already sent an email. just looking for theories and perspectives while I wait.
     
    Slimmmmmm likes this.
  6. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    7
    GBAtemp Patron
    magico29 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Aug 2, 2017
    United States
    cause you have to erase the first one u had for the first console.make sure to copy and paste in your desktop before you erase it.
     
  7. HiFX93
    OP

    HiFX93 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 9, 2018
    Canada
    Thanks for the reply. I should have mentioned. This 2nd Switch is using a brand new MicroSD card, so nothing was on it, except for the base files. Nothing from Switch #1 was carried over
     
  8. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    7
    GBAtemp Patron
    magico29 is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Aug 2, 2017
    United States
    contact tx then,to see whats going on.
     
  9. MightyMoe

    MightyMoe GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    6
    May 14, 2018
    Qatar
    Doesn't invalidate anything. My guess is since you launched SX OS on your second switch with a dongle it used the license in it to create a request. If you'd put that license.dat from #7 into the 2nd switch my guess is that it will tell you this license is activated on another switch.

    I guess you can use the dongle on multiple devices AFTER you activate the unique licenses.
     
  10. AnalogMan

    AnalogMan ultraSuMoFramework Dev

    Member
    12
    Apr 20, 2007
    United States
    Expected behavior. The license_request.dat file generated when you boot using the dongle contains the license key in the dongle. When you input an already used license code into the website you get the license.dat file for the console the license code was already registered to. When you booted the second Switch without the dongle, the license_request.dat no longer contained the code in the dongle so it prompted you to enter the code. This is how it's supposed to work.
     
    Last edited by Joe88, Jul 9, 2018 - Reason: Removed warez site name
  11. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    14
    May 6, 2006
    United States
    Use a PC to activate the 2nd code
     
  12. HiFX93
    OP

    HiFX93 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 9, 2018
    Canada
    Thanks all for the replies. ^^ This was the piece of information I was missing. I was unaware there was actually a license associated with the dongle itself (which, now that I think about it makes sense). Which would also make sense why the website spit back a license w/o a prompt.

    Thanks @AnalogMan for the clarification.

    Which brings me to another curious question then. If I had ended up using that license.dat file given back by the website, with the 2nd Switch, I'm assuming I would have gotten an error of somesort, akin to what @MightyMoe guessed?

    Thanks
     
  13. AnalogMan

    AnalogMan ultraSuMoFramework Dev

    Member
    12
    Apr 20, 2007
    United States
    It would tell you that the license.dat was for another console, yes.
     
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...